ULOG31: The Hive Food Park

in #ulog6 years ago

april_2018-07-09-23-13-45-845.jpg

In line with globalization and transnationalism, for almost a decade Cagayan de Oro City has been the gateway of Mindanao. Strategically, it is located on the northern portion of the one of the biggest islands in the Philippines. I really do not need to google on this one, just a quick glance over the Philippine map would do.

Aside from what was mentioned, it is strategic as it is connected to a number of provinces in Mindanao. It has not only expanded in terms of infrastructures but has also tried to expand in terms of food services, take The Hive Food Park for example.

There had been actually a number of food parks or food sites around the city. This goes to show that my fellow Kagay-anons love to go out, dine out, and hang out with their family and friends. I, on the other hand, love this idea because I honestly do not like washing the dishes whenever we eat at home, although eating outside is costly.

Now, shall I introduce The Hive to you all? I hope you would enjoy this blog entry of mind and also have the idea on visiting our small but friendly city on the southern portion of the Philippines.

2018-07-09 11.36.53 1.jpg

Along the busy corner of Lim Ket Kai area, you can find The Hive. To be specific, it is situated near the Pizza Republic (which unfortunately has been closed for a month already). As I could recall, it operates at evening and is loved by the people because it offers a variety of meals to hungry or even just to those customers who wants to hang out and chill with their friends.

Anyway, I got the opportunity to dine in this place because one Sunday afternoon we went to Lim Ket Kai mall to buy some stuff (some chocolate molds and ingredients). We got so hungry but upon strolling around the mall, all the fast food chains and restaurants are full. It was then when my brother suggested that we should eat at this new place called The Hive. So, we walked outside the mall and found this food park.

2018-07-09 11.36.51 1.jpg
I only got to pass by this area but I never expected it to be filled with people! The interior is not that exquisite but I must say that the wooden planks were neatly designed including the different stall signs! I mean the place is neatly designed even with the tents. The place actually reminded me of Singapore's food park. Oh! I miss that place and all the food I tasted.

2018-07-09 11.36.49 1.jpg

2018-07-09 11.36.47 2.jpg

2018-07-09 11.36.48 1.jpg

Although the place is a little hot or maybe because it was about to rain few minutes before we left, you can still enjoy this place with you loved ones. There are more than ten stalls with variety of dishes and even desserts. I actually want to regard this place as a food haven.

I really wanted to take photos of all the stalls but unfortunately there were a lot of people around when we arrived and even after we are home bound already.

I would just like to share that I get so excited on places like this one. Although having a food park breeds competition, at least there is innovation on the products they sell. There is also a japanese food stall and in few weeks, there would be a taiwanese food stall as well!

And fret not! The delicious meals come with low prices. I really never expected that at first.


Anyway, here are some of the food that we ordered. Jose and I were so glad we were given the privilege to budget our dinner. It was like a walk in a good park with a lot of sights and food to see.

20180708_192035.jpg

One of the stalls sold us this delicious pork steak. For a pork lover like me, I really love how it was grilled. Bangers, for one, sells different sausages as well that is why Jose who is a lover of sausages ordered one.

Chorizo de Cagayan tasted so great. I should have ordered more for myself. But anyway, what was expensive for me was the hanging rice. It was suppose to be Php6 -7, but then a piece was sold for Php10.00. I would love to have a hot steamed rice insteas, like seriously.

2018-07-09 11.36.41 1.jpg

The macha ice cream is really tasty although it is soft-served. It is a hit to teenagers and young adults. It was a good decision to have one for dessert.

P.S. They really have a decent bathroom for both male and female.

Rating: 8/10, would definitely love to visit this place again but with Kenneth next time! There are a lot more stals and dishes to try. I cannot wait for that next time!


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She is also taking up Certificate on Teaching. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

Medyo matao pa ang Food Park dyan ma'am hah. Dito kasi nagsasarahan na kasi bigla silang nagsulputan lahat dumamk tuloy kumpetensya.

Asan po ba sa inyo sir?

Sa may Metro Manila Area hehe. Yung The Yard na dati sikat ngayon sarado na.

Ay nakakatakot. Sana wag magsara dito samin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97