ULOG no. 39: Of Love Letters and Small Accidents

in #ulog6 years ago

20180730_002448_0001.png

Friday was not a good day for me. But it does not make a bad life for me.

So here's story on what happened to me. I invited Karl and Aug to buy some food at Jollibee. It was raining few hours ago so the walkway was wet. I was holding Carl's arms when we passed by the gymnasium when I accidentally slipped, causing my right ankle to sprain.

20180727_205616.jpg

Both of my friends were so worried. I told them to stay put with me for few seconds. After that, we went to the cafeteria which was just a walking distance from the gymnasium. I wanted to cry in public but both of my eyes were so wet.

I wanted to go home, but at the same time I have thought that I would miss out a lot of stuff if I choose to that is why I decided to stay inside our classroom until my mom would pick me up at school. I never wanted to move from my chair but I needed to go to the bathroom twice. I really am just so grateful that Aug was around helping me.

They then arrived twenty minutes before our class was dismissed. I was not really in the mood to listen or even participate because of my condition. To add, I am not fond of the professor on that specific subject. Anyway, I was expecting that mom would bring our car, but unfortunately not. I was walking feeling terrible because my foot was so sore.

My mom said we should ride a taxi that would take us to downtown but my dad called for a public utility vehicle. There was nothing wrong with that, but then I exerted a lot of effort and it was so painful since PUVs specifically jeepneys are tall.

Anyway, I felt better when dad treated us at the restaurant. I was also able to ask for some ice cubes for cold compress. Mom just lent me her scarf.


The morning after, I was absent in our classes. I woke up around three in the morning that day and I really cried while trying to walk toward the fridge to get the ice bag. I was limping in pain while heading to the bathroom too.

I could not do a lot of physical activities much as walking or strolling so I spent my entire day at home. I just got the chance to check on some documents, and luckily I ended up with the love letters my parents compiled.

20180728_191032.jpg

This is the compilation of the love letters and love notes that they had been exchanging way back when they were still in a boyfriend-girlfriend relationship. My dad frequently travelled a lot before especially when there are sports events as he used to manage varsity players and other players for Palarong Pampook and Palarong Pambansa.

I just find it so lovely to find love letters older than me. This is really sweeter than the usual exchanges of SMS. I usually send love letters and love notes too, no wonder why!

20180728_190207.jpg

20180728_190507.jpg

20180728_190951.jpg

I hope someday, someone very special would give me letters too.

Love,
Johanna Gail


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She is also taking up Certificate on Teaching. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94