Food and Family (Ulog #14)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

april_2018-05-30-23-28-28-449.jpg

Busy chasing dreams to the point that you missed a lot of other important things in life? Family? People that matter the most?

My sister was not even able to finish her college degree although she had been a consistent honor student prior to that, even graduated valedictorian once. She was one of the greatest influencer I met.

She was not able to receive her first pay check. She was not able to meet the love of her life, but I know she is happiest now in the arms of the Creator. But when she was still alive, I have seen her very happy. It was evident on the letters she wrote to the people close to her weeks before she died.

Weeks before she was on her death bed, with two tubes on her left and right lung, I have seen the impact she made in the lives on others. Friends of hers visited her everyday at the hospital despite their busy schedules.

A night before she died, she could not clearly see, or she just acted. She told me to sit beside her on her bed and spoke to me her final words for me. At that moment, I did not take it seriously because I was so positive that she would overcome cancer.

Her final words for me is not to become successful in life but to give more importance to the people who matter to me the most.

Death might have taken her from me, but it will never break the great bond we had and the lessons I learned from her particularly this last one.

Relationships! They matter a lot. You leave a good legacy.

I have shared these words on my facebook account few hours ago.

Truthfully, I really had been missing my sister for the past few days. The rain might have caused this drastic change of mood of mine, or maybe something else.

Her death has caused a huge change in my life. Before, I was known to be very selfish and someone who would love to isolate herself from her family. But the moment death took her, my outlook towards in life has changed.

Just like what I mentioned, she made the biggest impact in my life as of the moment. Her leadership and how she values relationships has caused me to put emphasis the well-being of others as well.

I have thought that it is not everyday that we could make others feel our love to them. But, I have also thought that if we value some things in life, we can be able to showcase our affection through focused attention.

So awhile ago, I decided to hang out with my brother downtown. Despite the approaching heavy rain, we travelled at the city proper to have a taste of ramen at the Taki House.

My brother and I are not really huge fans of Japanese cuisine, but we do love to share our time together venturing to different restaurants and trying out their meals.

I was told one time that no one can stop a person who has a grumbling stomach. And indeed it was true.

We were both literally wet from the strong heavy rain despite the fact that we brought my umbrella and unfortunately it is not with me now because my left it at my aunt's house.

2018-05-30 11.32.22 1.jpg

The Taki House which serves great tasting ramen is located at CenterPoint. My brother is visibly wet on this photo.

This restaurant also offers free Japanese Tea which is Macha flavor!

april_2018-05-31-00-17-25-763.jpg

My brother and I agreed to both have ramen. Their original ramen tastes so good and we added "katsu" which means pork in english.

I must say, I only eat vegetables when it is mixes with noodles and takoyaki only.

2018-05-30 11.32.17 1.jpg

And this is their takoyaki with bonito flakes which I found that from my brother that it is made up of fish.

2018-05-30 11.32.14 1.jpg

2018-05-30 11.32.15 1.jpg

And for dessert(s), we had Vanilla Ice Cream and macha latte! It was only then that I also found that it is just milk tea. Macha which is green tea and latté which is another term for milk.


My Aunt's 61st Birthday

2018-05-30 11.32.12 1.jpg

After eating at our new favorite restaurant, my brother and I headed to our ancestral house to celebrate Aunt Ruth's 61st birthday.

It was a night full of blast with my relatives. We had so much fun reminiscing the past while eating our dinner.

I love nights like this one. I really do.


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

It is indeed important that we succeed in life but not in the expense of the time to be with our family and friends. They are more important than money. I am glad that you chose to hang out with your brother.

Good to know that your brother is healthy now. And those mangoes and spring roles in the pic.. just wow. Oh i know this japanese dish on which these flakes start to move and i got scared first, i thought that was some alive moth :D

Your imagination is just so broad dear! ^_^

lolz no i just try ;)

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Oh thank you so much. =)

Kenneth, you commented on my blog.

I would really appreciate it a lot. Thank you so much!=)

dear madam,

I was very sad to read the post of death of your sister. Please pray for your sister.

You got a 2.25% upvote from @upme thanks to @gailbelga! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33