Ulog #11 (21 July 2018) Making One of My Favorite Street Food Snacks, "Tokneneng"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I love to prepare healthy and delicious snacks because I love foodies and I love to eat. Today I was thinking of something special to have merienda, so i tried my cooking skills in making Tokneneng. It's so simple but it taste so delicious. Everyone in the flat is craving a snack.

Tokneneng are  boiled chicken egg, dipped in orange colored dough and fried in deep oil. It tastes best when paired with chilli venigar. Generally this is considered as a Filipino Street Food and sold on the streets.

My homemade Tokneneng  

The recipe below will show you how to easily prepare it. 

Ingredients:

  • 6 pieces chicken eggs, boiled
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup annatto seeds (atsuete) or food coloring as substitute of annatto 
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt 
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper 
  • 2 cups cooking oil 

Cooking Procedure:

  1. Put the cornstarch in a container and dredge the boiled chicken eggs. Set aside.
  2. Combine all-purpose flour, salt, and pepper then mix thoroughly.
  3. Dilute the annatto seeds in water until the orange color comes out. Combine the liquid with the flour-all-purpose mixture and mix thoroughly.
  4. Put the boiled chicken eggs in the mixing bowl and coat with the batter.
  5. Heat the pan and pour the cooking oil.
  6. When the oil is hot enough, deep-fry the eggs until the coating is crispy. Use a serving spoon to scoop the eggs from the mixing bowl.
  7. Remove the fried eggs from the pan and place in a serving plate.
  8. Serve with vinegar or special sauce.

Simple Procedure 

This is my first time I tried this recipe. It is really simple to make, and your loved ones will really enjoy it.  I remember eating when I was in the Philippines many years ago. Yummy. Another great moment bonding time with my roommates and flatmates.

This is my ulog for today. I'm ulogging from Abudhabi. Xoxo.





Sort:  

Thank you @potuss for resteeming my blog.

Delicious

Thank you @abdoon. Really delicious especially with vinegar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43