#ULOG 576 - Daily Thoughts - 01 Jan 19 - Homesteading Today...

in #ulog6 years ago

Good Morning, Steemians! :D
HAPPY NEW YEAR! :D

I’m safely home, I wasn’t sure I was going to be because of the crazy amount of snow that fell between 0300 and 0800 when I headed home this morning. :D Thankfully slow and steady won out and I got here, our puppies and grand-puppies were all happy to see me. :D After everyone greeted me and sniffed to make sure I hadn’t been spending time with someone else’s animals they were ready to head outside to play in the snowstorm. :D My camera got covered in flakes quickly, so my pictures aren’t as nice as they should be, but our beautiful grand-puppy Mya, her pretty mom Karma and dapper dad Dakota didn’t mind the snow though. :D

Our lovely grand-puppy Lady couldn’t decide if she wanted to join her parents and her sister or follow her handsome brothers, in the end she decided to come inside to hang out with her grandma (me) instead. :D

I took a moment to get a picture of my favorite tree as the snowflakes were falling while I was grabbing that new rubber water tub that we got for the herd’s water a few days ago. Its going up to the barn for the herd since they’re only coming outside to eat their oats and get a drink while we muck out the barn and then heading back in for their breakfast hay and to stay for the day. :D The poor chickens are going to be stuck inside today as well, but I don’t think they’d want to be out in this, especially once the freezing rain replaces the snow. :D

Everyone’s had their oats and a good drink, the barn’s been mucked out and we’ve gotten everyone settled back into the barn for their breakfast. :D Joker and Buddy switched spots when they came back in, but that made it a bit easier to get a picture of Belle, Leroy, and Buddy from over Princess’s back, too bad I only got Joker’s back though. :D I thought I was going to get lucky and get his face too, but he ducked down for a mouthful of hay as I snapped the shot. :D

I had to squeeze between Buddy and Joker to get this picture of our pretty Princess while she was eating her breakfast hay. :D

Our handsome boy Joker is enjoying himself while I give him a little ear scratch and snap this picture. :D

I think this is one of my favorite pictures that I took today, its of our pretty puppy mom Karma and her lovely daughter Lady playing together in the worsening snowstorm, they are our snow dogs, and will stay outside all day in weather like this if we let them. :D

Our handsome grand-puppy Tiny needed a nap after wrestling out in the deep snow with his siblings, he chose my bathroom mat as his napping spot. :D

My handsome husband cleaned out my parking spot after he finished plowing the driveway and making a path for us to lug water over to the barn and down to the pasture tonight. :D

New Years Eve Fireworks 1. (There were fireworks last night in town to celebrate the New Year and I tried to get some pictures and a bit of video from inside my friends car, I didn’t think about how hard it is to get a clear picture of moving objects, especially ones that explode, but here are some that didn’t turn out too bad, at least you can tell they’re fireworks. :D I couldn’t get the video to edit or load so I can’t share that with, sorry all. :D)

New Years Eve Fireworks 2.

New Years Eve Fireworks 3.

New Years Eve Fireworks 4.

Since our poor cow babies have been stuck in the barn most of the day due to the snowstorm we’ve been enjoying, okay enjoying is definitely not the right word, because I didn’t enjoy driving home in it this morning, anyway, since they’ve been stuck in the barn most of the day, I thought I’d share a few pictures of the herd that I took just before I heading into town last night. :D There was at least a bit of the sunset last night, we didn’t see the sun at all today, here’s the first one. :D

I yelled goodbye to Leroy, Buddy, Joker, Belle, and Princess as I was leaving last night and only Princess looked up and mooed goodbye back to me, the others all ignored me, how rude, LOL. :D

My handsome husband went out to get the herd into the barn and as soon as he got down to the pasture gate Belle gave him a lick and everyone else headed over to the gate, Belle and Princess are his cows for sure, they love him to bits. :D Buddy and Joker are my boys and some days I think Leroy likes me better than he likes my handsome husband sometimes and other times he likes him better, so I’m not quite sure who’s his favorite. :D
Well that was our day here. How is/was yours? I hope you have/had an awesome day! :D

Anyone else interested in a badge like this? Contact @daddykirbs for a custom badge of your own. :D Thank you to @zainenn for the GHSC footer as well. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32