#ULOG 470 - Daily Thoughts - 16 Sep 18 - Homesteading Today...

in #ulog6 years ago

Good Morning, Steemians! :D

It didn’t look like it was going to be a beautiful day when we first went outside this morning, but it was quite lovely with the grey clouds and the hint of the sunshine to come, at least I thought so. :D

Joel (1) and Billy (2) being good boys while enjoying their breakfast. :D

They were eating so nicely, right up until the moment when Billy (1) and Joel (2) decided to switch dishes, that’s when Joel walked right through his dish and caught it with his rear hoof on the way out the other side, spilling the dish, silly pig. :D Thankfully they’ll clean most of it up by the time they’re done. :D

The beautiful Belle (1) and her handsome son Leroy (2) were the first ones to arrive for breakfast in the front pasture. :D

Candy heading up to join Belle and Leroy for breakfast. :D

Our dapper doggy dad Dakota (1) and his handsome sons Tiny (2) and Shadow (3) hurrying Joker (4) along to join the others for breakfast. :D

The herd is lined up waiting to be allowed back into the pasture once my handsome husband gets the hay feeder and the hay he had to pull apart to get all the string that was throughout half the new bale of hay. They were quite vocal about their displeasure in the time removing all the string, collecting the hay that had been separated, tossing it all into the feeder once it was upright again, before getting the truck out of the pasture so we could let them back in, which to them was way too long, by mooing quite loudly throughout the whole process, LOL. :D

We all decided to play my favorite Blizzard Game, World of Warcraft (WoW). My handsome husband was doing dungeons in the new Battle for Azeroth (BfA) zones and I (2) went to chauffeur our son (1), flying him around from place to place, going through quest lines, killing things that attacked us while we were fishing, and here we are squaring off to basically have a snowball fight but with snow blowing guns instead of actual snowballs. :D

Here is what it looked like when we were shooting snow at each other. :D

We’re trying to catch some oily black mouth fish in this picture. :D

The clouds are clearing up and look what’s coming out, the sunshine, just in time for sunset pictures, YAY! :D

Sunset 1.

Sunset 2.

Sunset 3.

Sunset 4.

Sunset 5.

Sunset 6.

Sunset 7.

Sunset 8.

Sunset 9.

Sunset 10.
Well that was our day here. How is/was yours? I hope you have/had an awesome day! :D

Anyone else interested in a badge like this? Contact @daddykirbs for a custom badge of your own. :D

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing a peek into your day & your homestead @frostyamber :) I love your Cows! They are sooo adorable <333 That sunset is pretty awesomeness, too. Great photos SiStar ~ Lots of Love!

Welcome back my friend! :D Thanks for visiting. :D
I'm happy to share, its basically the same routine each day, with a few surprises thrown in here and there, sometimes the cows surprise us by finding ways into pens they aren't supposed to be in, sometimes they do it by knocking the hose out of the water tubs, they keep us guessing. :D They are all good most of the time though thankfully. :D
The sunsets are my favorite thing to photograph, some day I'm going to get a good camera that shows the colors even better, that will fantastic, I'm just glad you and others enjoy the ones I've been taking with my cell phone camera. :D Thank you so much. :D
God bless you. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

I admire your ability to do so much! I am literally still in the infancy stages of getting our homestead setup/up & running. There's no real good excuse, but I do have lots of them lol <333 Where we are presently I don't see the possibility of having cows (they are one of my favorite animals) but I do think we could have some chickens hehe so I extra extra love getting to see your cows and other animals along with your sharing of daily activities. It's inspirational & motivational for me. I also love taking pictures of the sunrise & sunset. I hope you are able to get another camera, but please know your photos are beautyfull as they are. Thank you for being you SiStar! Sending so much love your way for a most awesomest day :) <333

Thank you so much, that is nice to hear. :D
It took us years of successes, costly mistakes, and hard lessons to get our homestead to this point, but I don't think we'd ever be able to move back into the city again after living here. :D
Chickens are a great way to start, they aren't super high maintenance, although I recommend either a coop/run area with some sort of cover or clipping both wings, so they can't fly out and possibly get eaten by predators and prevent them from accidentally drowning in nearby bodies of water like our pond or a deep water dish. :D Chickens are very interesting to just sit and watch when you have time to relax for a bit too. :D I appreciate the encouragement, thank you. :D
God bless you. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

My pleasure! <333 Yes I can see how much time, effort & experimenting it takes to get everything going and "just right". One of our neighbors has some chickens and the love to come over and visit mostly every day. I love watching them so much. I love hearing their voices and seeing them play. It's soooo adorable when them jump up for berries or do the follow the leader thing. Ommmmgooodness! I think they are sooo awesome. I hope you have a super lovely day today my friend. Lots of Love & Blessings to you & yours always <333

Chickens are a lot of fun to just sit there and watch, they are so energetic and talkative. :D Homestead animals are better than any television show out there when you have the time to sit there, watch them, and relax for sure. :D
Thank you for the blessings and love, sending you the same. :D
God bless you. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Homestead animals are better than any television show out there when you have the time to sit there, watch them, and relax for sure. :D

For sure! I wish I had a mountain I would make it a wildlife sanctuary heheh <333 :)

Thank you for the Blessings & Love my friend! Keeping the Super Loop of awesome vibes open & flowing ;) Cheers!!

A wildlife sanctuary would be wonderful. :D My daughter keeps telling me we should start a sanctuary/rescue shelter for dogs here. :D We've thought about it a bit, but we like having the chickens, pigs, and cows too much for that to become a reality anytime soon, but who knows what the future holds for us, we can't say it won't ever happen for sure. :D
Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoy them enough to keep coming back to visit. :D
God bless you. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Congratulations @frostyamber! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80