Ulog No. 50: "Report Writing Finished, and Sample Observation on a Child's Learning"

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

In my 48th ulog post, "My Simple Joy of Teaching Young People", I mentioned that I was responsible for writing reports for some children. The reports are the "end of the year reflection" on each student that details their progress in 5 learning areas, which are emotional development, social development, cognitive development, pre-literacy and numeracy development, and fine and gross motor development.

I actually had to write 11 reports, not 10. But I have finally completed all of them!!! I submitted the reports to my Director for proofreading and checking the validity of all the statements I wrote for each child. They were checked and printed today. In each report, there is a box provided for each child to draw a portrait of themselves where it says, "This is me at ELC."

I was in a very good mood today. I guess because it made me feel good inside that I was able to accomplish two things. I submitted my assignments for my Diploma course on Friday last week, then all the reports are finished. All I have to do in the remainder of this term is to write observations on children's engagement in play or teacher-directed activities.

Below is an example of how I document a child's learning or engagement. I usually write anecdotal records when I write observations.


(Note: Name of the child changed to protect privacy)

Playground Play

playground.jpg

Rosie was crying as she came to Mrs. V for help. She said that she landed on her bottom on the bark chips when she went down the slide. Mrs. V reassured and comforted her and then Mrs. V asked her if she would want an ice pack. Rosie said, "Yes, please." Mrs. V asked another Educator to get an ice pack for her whilst Mrs. V stayed beside Rosie to continue to comfort her. Rosie did not stop crying until she got the ice pack.

After a few minutes, Rosie stopped crying and told Mrs. V, "I am fine now." Mrs. V asked her, "Do you want to play again?" And she replied, "Yes." She got up excitedly and climbed up the monkey bar rails to get to the top of the slide. She slid down and was very happy that at the first attempt, she did not land on her bottom. Rosie said she knew now what to do.

On the second attempt, she slid down and landed on her feet instead. She was very happy and was quite proud of her achievement. She did this repeatedly with ease and every time she went down the slide, she beamed with pride.

Reflection:

Rosie shows well-developed gross motor skills, balance, and coordination and takes extra care on climbing up and going down the slide. She demonstrates resilience and determination to overcome her fear after getting hurt the first time. She shows an ability to learn from the first attempt and apply her strategies on how she will slide down and land on her feet in her succeeding attempts.

Note to Rosie:

Well done, Rosie! You have shown that you are a strong girl and you are able to rise from a little setback and you have managed to succeed in all your attempts on the slide. I am so proud of you!


Thank you for reading! If you have any feedback, please reply in the comment section below. Thank you and bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog initiative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.
The "U" in #Ulogs means "You."

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

@steembulls
dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

@dynamicgreentk, @dynamicsteemians
rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

@flaminghelpers
itestify1.jpg

@itestify

All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit and @steembulls), #ulogger GIF by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55