#Ulog 0018 --- I DESERVE A GREAT LOVE STORY - LOVE SIMON-- MOVIE REVIEW | #SPOILER #ALERT

in #ulog6 years ago

A review without introduction is not my thing actually. But today, since this movie was passed released last Christmas in other countries, and I bet, many reviews are already out there lurking, I decided to be more direct for this super-duper-wonderful LGBT movie.

Disclaimer: I’m not a member. I just watched it because of some of the 13 Reasons Why’s cast are here, especially Hannah Baker. I didn’t even know that this is an LGBT themed movie, but I still liked it over all.

So without any further ado, below might be some of the things that really caught my inhibitions. So hold on and enjoy

“The Soundtracks”

You might not know, but music is life for me, and I’m really a sucker of indie sounds and music that are not in any body’s playlist. It’s so awkward that it is coming right from me, but I can’t take mainstream so much like anybody else.

The wonderful soundtrack of this movie have really hooked me for the movie. The Movie, as a whole, is like about Music and Angsts and more music?

The Email Thing”

Alright, this the Part where we will know about Simon. Simon is a young lad, a normal kid, just like everyone else, just except he has a huge-assed secret. He’s gay.
And one of his schoolmate posted a confession to some website other high schools are into watch.
The post was about someone confessing that he is gay, anonymously. Simon, then created a new Gmail and email Blue, as he named the other boy.

Few moments after, Blue reply to Simon and there they made an intimate conversation amidst not really knowing who each other are in real life.

“The Block-mailing Thing”

Simon was not so careful, which made the story a mess. Martin, one of his schoolmates, happened to use the computer in their school after Simon. And accidentally knows about the “Email Thing” I talked about a while ago.
And since Martin have a Crush on one of Simon’s friend, Abby, He block-mailed Simon to help him out for Abby and he won’t spill Simon’s secret. Which is really awful for me o think. But of course made the story more exciting.

“The 13 RW’s vibe”

To be honest I was really expecting this movie to have a 12 RW vibe, but I was wrong. Though I was admiring to watch Hannah on the movie, still the movie was a different vide. A lighter, more positive and sweet.

“The Coming out”

Just right after the tragic incident for Martin, as he was rejected by Abby in front of the entire school, the Secret was exploded right after everyone laughs about him in the page, he needed to do it so the attention would will turn to somebody else.

I knew, he would really do it, though it’s not really Simon’s fault that he got rejected. I think this issue is about immaturity and not thinking before doing anything with the internet.

This was the climax I guess, not everyone likes wat they knew, it even tore this relationships with his best friends for some reasons. And it almost left him alone except he has a wonderful family.

“The Assistant Principal”

He was a show stealer, though. I admire his character. SO mild and so thoughtful. (Just for me). I think he represents elder or somebody who is old and still need to be hear their issues about online relationships or something like that. (Just forget about me having him in the list)

“The Worst”

I think the worst was Simon’s father almost not accepting the fact that he’I gay after confessing ion Christmas and his friends have to avoid him for some reasons, apparently caused by the block-mailing of Martin. And the whole school laughing at him.

But at least, without being a spoiler (since I have been spoiling all throughout), everything turns out better in the end. Which I think, not happening all the time in real life.

“His Last Post”

After the consecutive sad events, and acceptance being finally became free and braver to let everyone know how felt and what he wanted to say.

It was so uplifting and motivational especially for our brothers and sisters in the community and also the reason why the story ended so positively.

“I deserve a great love story…”

It was one of the line on his last post, and I think is the entire point of the movie.

I also believe that everyone deserves a great love story no matter who you are, and where you think you belong to. The world has a lot of anger, hatred, disagreements and all shits, but we must never forget that it also has the all kinds of love we deserve to share with each other.

Life is so complicated without love. But the moment we know it and lives with it, we can see peace in every heart no matter what gender, what color or whatever an individual is. It is always with love that we can see what really matters to us and to the world.

We deserve a great love story, because we deserve to be happy.

Thank you for spending some time and reading my blogs. Please Let me know what you think.

I was also supposedly writing a review for 13 RW, but I forgot to take note while watching. But I will still do it. Please hang in.

Sort:  

“You get to exhale now, Simon.” ❤️ This is an awesome review and Love, Simon is a refreshing perspective on the LGBTQIA+ community’s realities. I hope more people get to watch it, and hope to read more from you. See you around. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28