#ulog [1]: It's Smart To Change The World But It's Smarter To Change Yourself First

in #ulog6 years ago

hands-1222866_1920.jpg

Firstly, I thank @surpassinggoogle for creating the #ulog tag which I define as My log, which is a log of the genuine expressions of myself.

It is not an uncommon behaviour of us to always want things change: the system of government, conduct of people, the list goes on. While the idea we're suggesting can be impeccable and our opinions can be very correct, most of the time we often stay oblivious to the fact that the first person we ought to change is ourself. I call it *Self Examination.

The man who cannot change his mind will never change anything.

In Steven Pinker's Enlightenment Now, Pinker quoted from a survey which says,

A large majority of Britons think that immigration, teen pregnancy, litter, unemployment, crime, vandalism, and drugs are a problem in the United Kingdom as a whole, while few think they are problems in their area.

which very much applies to us. We often blame others instead of taking responsibilities of our actions. If we really want an impact of ourselves in this world, I suggest 3 modus operandi which I'm already practicing:

  • Self Examination:
    identity-795295__480.jpg

As English Poet and Playwright William Shakespeare once said, "To thine own self be true", let's be truthful with ourselves. Let's point out our strength and weakness. It is ignominious to change the world to becoming a better place of which we are in no way better. It will never work.

  • Self Transformation:
    checklist-1622517__480.png

After examining ourselves, and we've known what part of ourselves needs to be improved, the next thing to do is to act. We undergo a transformation of ourselves from our old self to the new man we intend to create.

  • Self Progress:
    career-3386334_1920.jpg

Making an impact involves imparting and it is highly systematic. We all know no one is perfect but we can all get better. After we've examined ourselves, transform ourselves by acting right and persist in doing what is right, then we'll be able to become the better person we want to be. Our influence would cover our family and the infection spreads.

I personally invest in Steemit so that I can be a better person and financially buoyant and I hope it will work for me. I want to get better so that my family too would be. I want to change my family's status but I realise the first person who needs to be changed is me and I think this applies to everyone. Let's not end our lives like this 11th century Anglican Bishop on whose tomb the following words were written:

When I was young and free my imagination had no limits. I dreamed of changing the world. As I grew older and wiser, I discovered the world would not change, so I shortened my sights somewhat and decided to change only my country. But it, too seemed immovable. As I grew in my twilight years, in one last desperate attempt, I settled for changing only my family, those closest to me, but alas, they would have none of it. And now as I lie on my death bed, I suddenly realized: If I had only changed my self first, then by example I would have changed my family. From their inspiration and encouragement, I would then have been able to better my country and, who knows, I may have even changed my world.

PS:
I appreciate @olawalium, @mzajoke, @donkeypong, @stellabelle, @ilyastarar, @ambetoo, @dobartim and you all for your help and support both directly and indirectly in my Steemit journey. Thank you

I remain @etoo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98