Makin' Bacon... Bread... Machine! [#ulog 6]

in #ulog6 years ago

So today I decided I would put in a little bit of effort to make a bread. Actually there's pretty much no excuse for it because there's so little effort required it's embarrassing. We have a bread machine. This means you throw all the ingredients in the machine, press the button, and voila! Smelly bread in a few hours.

But at some point we stopped eating bread because we started to reduce carbs, or that it was a source of stomach acid (our stomachs are just not so good i guess). So the machine just sat on the sidelines for a while.

Despite this, I was craving a particular type of bread and wanted to start making some. After some searching I stumbled upon this recipe for a cheddar bacon bread with a bread machine recipe.

As I was stumbling around I realized another reason I stopped doing it. I just take too long to measure out each and every ingredient. I'm sure given enough times I would eventually be able to do it quickly but for the time being it was just a very slow process.

For my particular machine the instructions as written would have overflowed the container, so thankfully I had the sense to scale it by a factor of 2/3. The other thing is that I did not have cheddar cheese, and just mozzarella. So I did that swap, and thinking that it might not work out.

Anyway, long story short, I now have bread!

bread on piggy board

Here it is on a piggy board. Let's give it a slice shall we?

Ooh with a satisfying crisp as we break through the crust, here we are. Can we the little bacon bits inside.

Enhance!

Alright... now for the taste test...

Hmm. well it's a little bit bland. When I get a bite with bacon it's great. But hey... where's the cheese? I suppose that's why I should have used cheddar. I'll be on the lookout for that one. I think the reason I thought it could work was that there was another recipe with mozzarella. Maybe that was with onions too? Hmm. ah well, it's still somewhat tasty.

... and Opal is looking at me longingly. Time for the Opal test! Woah she really likes it! Opal says A++!

Anyone know of other recipes I could try that might be tasty?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

hehehe i have done the exact same thing 4-5 years ago :P the traditions continues :P

Oh wow looking at that bread, makes me want to go dig my bread maker out from under the counter.

Actually, I think I will, use it as something to show my daughter, and make some cheddar bacon bread!

MMMM!

Yummm... let me know how it goes!

Yummers with a little butter and warmed up i bet it be less bland!

Hmm yes more butter helps!

How does the bread machine look like???

I really prefer eating bread than rice :D so if I can get my hands on that machine, that would be great!

Hmm well it just looks like a box :) they do vary in size and function though

Wow, great bread recipe, I use my bread machine quite a lot so will be trying this out! I also think cheddar cheese or mature cheddar would be even better. Pile on the butter or make a sandwich with that bread for @jaybird's contest ;);)

Ooh nice suggestion thanks! Yeah butter will definitely be a nice touch. Salt and butter mmmm

That is quite the machine and that you can add so much stuff right into it with out damaging it is pretty neat. Was the bacon, bacon bits from a jar or did you fry some bacon and then crush it up? It sure looks good, bread is one of my main things I eat.

Bacon bits out of a bag. Really fried bacon would probably be even better mmmm

That bread looks great! but what did you do to Pechi!? You turned him into a wooden pig!

That was probably Opal.

A dog, a couch potato and now a witch!? what else can the mighty opal do!?

Posted using Partiko Android

what?? OMG this look so soft and delish!! you did a fantastic job!!! i bet opal loves it ... congrats on beautiful bread E. :)

Haha congrats, I feel like I've won a medal :D

you totally did! haha
ive never tried but heard its super hard to do. looks so yummy and with bacon! what made you think of that ?

I use to have a bread machine and would set it to start baking the bread before I got up in the mornings.........Miss that bread machine..... Now I want bread too :D

Nothing like waking up to the smell of bread! I should definitely do that next!

I can noms yore breads? dey look tasty an im hangry...

Yes! Here you go. cuts out a star shaped piece of bread

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94