You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sometimes Your Brain Just Goes Slack... (Ulog no. 4)

in #ulog6 years ago

Then there are days where I 100% know what I need to do. I see the words. I hear the words. They are not showing up the page when I try and type them. It’s not writers block more like I’m walking in mud. It will happen just take ten times longer than it should have. I still have to get stuff out on those days otherwise I start falling behind and motivation goes out the window. One day turns into two days and then oh its been a week.

Sort:  

It’s not writers block more like I’m walking in mud.

THAT. Right there.

Yesterday, I sat down with a more or less complete rough draft I was going to polish up and put out there... and I actually dozed off in front of the computer. Not because I hadn't had sleep, but because I felt pretty much bored to tears with what I was looking at.

Well, not exactly...

I was bored with the process... I actually thought to myself "This is pretty good, but why can't it just finish itself?"

And I ended up just sending it back to the drafts folder and instead struggled to write the above two paragraphs, pretty much about nothing. And the only reason I even did that is much the same as what you hinted at... I gotta stay in the flow, or I'm just going to blow off a couple of weeks, before I realize it. And then it will be really hard to get back into things...

Fridays tend to be my days for it to hit. I have a community post I aim to put out those days and after I start thinking about next week’s content. So it’s always like “if I can just get this done” I’m now ahead for two days as far as my own flow goes.

I’ve been trying to spend more time outdoors these days. I know when I feel like “oh it’s nice outside” if I can I just go out for just 10-20 mins. Better then wasting energy and getting distracted with that feeling. I think that is what many are struggling with. I’ve noticed it a lot in peoples posts. Even when I talk with people you can just tell.

Whereas I have pretty much always known that writing is a "practice" and you have to keep after it every day... I haven't really managed to sell myself on the idea. Well, not completely, anyway.

Of course it's summer here, now... which really means something in Western Washington; we have daylight till 9:30 and a yard that creams for attention every time is rains and then a warm period follows. So my writing slacks off because "there's so much other stuff" clamoring for my attention.

Ripping out weeds is actually pretty good for creative inspiration...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46