Midnight thoughts

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I just couldn't sleep, its past 12 mid night already. Too many thoughts is running in my head. I could still remember when I was still in my early 20's, when the usage of celphone and text messaging is just starting. I was a chat addict by then. No facebook but friendster was still known and yahoo messenger was the one I used as chat apps.

I remember one time, I received a text message from an anonymous number, she refer herself as Kathleen de Guzman or Gomez. She told me that she saw my number flashing from her tv. I remember sending greetings via sms in a tv station back then. So after exchanges of txt, I decided to call her to verify if she's true or just someone's trying to trick me. I was amazed by her voice, it was so sweet. There are times that she also call me when she got lonely.

A few months past we became closer but only thru chat at voice call. We haven't got to see each other in personal. But back then it was ok, it's like having companion even without seeing who really they are.

After a year of exchanging sms and voice call, one day I recieved a message and it claims that it was Kath's brother. He just thanking me for spending time to his sister. I replied that it was nothing. But the next message brought tears in my eyes. Her brother ask me if I can go to St. Agustine Church in Manila for Kath's internment. I was shocked that day. I thought this kind of moment only happens in a movie.

Kath was suffering from leukemia and texting is just what makes her happy for the last days of her life. My only regret is that, I never got to see her in personal. I never went to her funeral too.

image
Panoramic shot from Seychelles

This experience thought me how to give importance or value everyone coz we never knew how we touches life of others even in spending ample amount of time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40