#Ulog today: Reflecting on My Childhood. The Need For Better Parents- Children Relationship.

in #ulog6 years ago

80% of previous generation parents broke their children without knowledge.
They ended up raising Emotionally damaged children.

FB_IMG_1525443778088.jpg

Remember all those times we ran to them to say something about how we felt or what we saw, only for us to turn back in tears because we were hushed and they had asked us to shut up.

FB_IMG_1525443769758.jpg

Remember those period that someone would probably report you to your parents accusing you of indulging with an opposite sex and your father would not listen to your explanation, the more you try to open your mouth to speak, the more hot slaps kept coming upon your cheeks and your throat got so tighten, your innocence can't be seen nor heard.

All the tears dripping down your cheeks wishing if only he could just allow me explain that nothing had transpire between us.

We grew up with that fear and hatred for them without our parents knowing.
Its not just okay for them to pay fees, feed and cloth us.
We need them to listen to every slightest thing we have to say, grant us audience, we need that parental bonding, not to feel complete joy outside the home and come home feeling dejected and abused.
Imagine seeing your first monthly flow and you go days rehearsing how to speak to your mum about it and you finally summoned courage to tell her and all she replied you with is " know how you smile with boys" ..
They did not sex educate us so we learnt mostly from our peers and the society.

FB_IMG_1525443785215.jpg

These are parents that do not know how the child feels but cares so much of the image the society sees of them,

You would hear things like so "what will people say of them",

Another instance, you have a child that doesn't like to eat, you call him or her so many names and then add when they see you outside people will say I don't feed you, but have not found out if the child has difficulty in feeding properly or just needs to be around people to feed.

I pray our millennium parents become better .

Sort:  

Agreed to an extent. I was lucky to have parents that always listen to me. I never felt as though I couldn't tell the truth, and any time I did not tell the truth, that was nothing but a huge, grievous error on my own part. You mention guys. I have two best friends who are guys. Never in either of my parents lives have they ever thought that something beyond friendship is transpiring between me and these two; they're my brothers, not my lovers.

Yea, I agree with you. It actually depends on the culture of your locality. Here in tropical Africa, it was common in those days to hurt children emotionally in the disguise of protecting them. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72