#ulog 8:Me day

in #ulog6 years ago

So as an introvert, I thrive when I am able to spend time by myself. For a very long time now, I have had to socialize with people every day. I can feel myself starting to struggle with the ability to stay peaceful and energized. Even on my days off, I have found I am still working or am spending time around other people and that stops me from being able to recuperate from the stress and socialization. So tomorrow I am declaring a day for myself. I am not going to go anywhere or talk to anyone. I am going to relax at home in my pajamas and do things that make me happy. I have already forewarned my roommate that if she imposes on my me day there would be major problems, so hopefully she will respect it this time. I am planning on spending time writing and drawing. I also will be listening to music and maybe scrapbooking. I really need to destress and fully emerse myself in things I enjoy. I have found that I am beginning to struggle with depression again and am finding myself getting frustrated easily. I know it is because I haven't been able to fully take time for myself. It has been at least a year since I have devoted a day to myself, and that is such a major problem. Like one of the faculty said at the residency, you have to take care of yourself to be able to take care of others. I have been unable to meet my own needs for space and privacy and it is really affecting my ability to do what I need to do for work and class. I need to recharge and recenter myself so I can continue on this journey. And to do so, I need to spend a day doing what I enjoy doing. When you always put others first, you begin to lose yourself in the process. You become a zombie in your own skin, just trying to get by. I want to be alive once more, instead of living in the motions of everyday life. So my final thought of the day, make time to follow your own needs so you can reenergize and be refreshed for whatever lies ahead.

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
SBD 2.55