#ulog Day 5: First of Spring Flowers

in #ulog6 years ago

20180522_232826_0001.png

Spring: A lovely reminder of how beautiful change can truly be.


Spring flowers truly give life to every gardens and colour to every place. This is my first Spring in Northern Ireland. And I can tell you I have lots of first time and mostly to see different kinds of flowers for the very first time.

Living in the city where there are more buildings than plants in the Philippines and now being here in Northern Ireland is a breath of fresh air. And literally fresh air with the birds singing, with the view of the fields and the gardens full of flower and plants.

I love flowers. Maybe I'm a butterfly or a bee attracted to them. And these are the first flowers of Spring in our garden that I want to share with you today.

1527015313106.jpg

Bluebells

Bluebells are one of the first flowers of spring in May. And this is my first time to see Bluebell. The lovely colour flower I'd love to gaze upon.

Did you know that during ancient times they said that bluebells are fairy flowers? The fairies used them to trap humans who intrude their place which is the forest. Dad told me that the old people used to tell their children not to pick bluebells whilst in the forest because if they do they will not be seen again and will be lost forever. 😜

Also some used bluebells in love spells. Just turn the flower inside and out to win the heart of someone's you desires. Good luck!

I can relate to it too because in the Philippines, we have too many folklore that when I was I child I used to believed on. And I still do believe in some still.

There is not much fragrance on bluebells but its beauty and colour will never make you feel blue!




1527017733214.jpg

Chives Flowers

Here in Northern Ireland, the chives were used for the champ. Mashed the potato, a lump of butter then cut the chives finely with scissors and mixed it up, that's champ!

Chives are a great insect repellent plant so it's one of a must have in the garden.

The flower of chives blooms in May or June. The flower scatters the seeds so when it ripens it can take over a whole lot of ground. That's why some take it off before it ripens. Well for us, it can grow as it wants we love its lovely purple flower. It's edible and you can add it to your salad too!




1527021596670.jpg

Allium Hollandicum 'Purple Sensation'

Also known as "Ornamental Onions." Some call this "Persian Onion" or "Dutch Garlic" as per Wikipedia.

DSC_4742.JPG

Oh, I love this purple globe so much. The way it stands tall and proud. And look at its colour that is so captivating. Purple star-studded pompoms. What a queen this flower for me!



1527023477660.jpg

Tulip

With its bright colours and different varieties, ladies love tulip. It blooms only for a short period of time though. You see it in my previous post about the daffodils and tulips blooming the first week of May. Mostly the ones in the bottom garden are all goes off already. And I need to wait again next year to see it's bloom. I love the purple and red-orange one too. Just simply a lovely flower to adore.

And only in Northern Ireland, I see dandelion.

1527024784763.jpg

Still waiting for this lily to come out. I don't know what variety is this one.

1527025099614.jpg

And some I can't tell the names and maybe you know?

1527025214542.jpg

1527025260983.jpg

I still have lots of plants that aren't showing up. I'm still hoping that my Sunflower will grow. I think it didn't make it this time. The grapes, gooseberries, tomatoes, pear and apple you gotta see my harvest in coming months! I'm so excited for it.

DQmQjuMaeAHbprU8f8J4pHHD6uwnVV4x4X9DusyWSFQHQep.gif

What is your favourite flower in your garden? Share with me in the comment below!

DQmQjuMaeAHbprU8f8J4pHHD6uwnVV4x4X9DusyWSFQHQep.gif

All images are mine.

20180523_012457_0001.png

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

DQmQ4biAiEBRsRc6hLc6YHemncz1UgTHQHFS2DGjA63FFSi.gif

Free Steemit Graphics by: @aka-alias

DQmdSTTRdnvXvczkrRie2rUutsX2PuTAynbiatyf7u26oyv.gif

GIF by @jason04

Sort:  

zealous posting is very remarkable my friend @dearjyoce

Thanks, dear. What types of flowers you have there in your place?

flowers in my place in, there are various types

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 78 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43