Improving the Quality of Learning and Teaching in Philippines: QUIPPER Seminar #ULOG

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

20180519_222918.jpg
Today I attended a Quipper seminar with the theme"HOW TO CREAT LESSONS THAT STUDENTS LOVE".

Quipper is what I visualize as steemit in education. Quipper is a website that gives new approach in learning and teaching it is brought here to Phillipines so that we can be competetive globally in terms of new emerging form of learning and teaching strategies.

I will not make this blog to much detailed since I know we don't have all the time in the world to read a blog. So I will just share some key points I learn during the seminar.

  • Improving How We Write Assessments
  • Limitations of Bloom's Taxonomy
  • Creating Effective Powerpoint Presentations for Learning
  • Writing to Engage Student

So I think that's the top thing we had discuss and really gives impact to me when. But one thing really open my mind here is about the limitation of Bloom's Taxonomy (If you don't know what it is Bloom's Taxonomy do a reasearch please, cause you will never know how to teach and can't even assess yourself if you are really learning). So here's what I learn about tne limitations of Bloom's Taxonomy

  • Flaw 1: Lowers expectations for thinking

Differentiate the difficulty of higher order tasks, not eliminate it.

  • Flaw 2: Encourages transmission of information

Develop understanding by problematizing the content using higher order tasks to engage students in digesting the material

  • Flaw 3: Creates false confidence

Understand that inviting students to offer reasoned judgments is a more fruitful way of framing learning tasks than is the use of verbs clustered around levels of thinking that are removed from evaluative judgments.



Now here some photos of what we have done during the seminar.

FB_IMG_1526735756722.jpg
Seminar's theme and programs.

FB_IMG_1526735723811.jpg
This is where the seminar take place actually I'm also shock on how the way it looks. I thought I'm in a cafe hehe

FB_IMG_1526735737001.jpg
She is our lecturer Ms. Karen a graduate of BSEd Math Major in U.P Diliman w/ Masters degree in Hongkong University

FB_IMG_1526739081665.jpg
We had some group activities.

FB_IMG_1526732653328.jpg
My group we won an award for being the best team. I'm the one wearing white.

If you want to know more about quipper here it is just visit their website www.quipper.com



Keep ULogging everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60270.38
ETH 3307.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40