#Ulog 3 - Learning Something New (Adobe Illustrator)

in #ulog6 years ago

Screenshot (3).png

A screenshot of the adobe illustrator 2013 environment on my screen

A few days ago, I made a blog post about my intention to learn something new which led to the decision of learning to use Adobe Illustrator to assist my graphical needs, it has been exactly six days since I began learning through the help of an online instructor at lynda.com. I did mention in my previous blog post that this was special to me as it would be the first time I would be learning something on my own. I have always been a believer that the fastest and most effective way to learn is through the help of a real-life coach but I guess that perception is already changing.

What I have Learnt So Far
I haven't been able to give it as much time and attention as I would love to but the little time I have been able to give has bought me some knowledge. Started out with learning all about the Adobe Illustrator environment, the top section is known as the control panel, the left is known as the tools bar and to the right, you have the modification bar. I did learn about how to create new documents be it for print, web, mobile devices, video or just basic RGB documents and how to save them to different formats too.

ninesix.jpg
My first logo design using the spiral tool and swatch for the colour fill

Away from that, I have been introduced to the tools in adobe illustrator, such as the selection tool, the lasso tool, the zoom tool, direct selection tool, pen tool, spiral tool, star tool, rectangle tool, line segment tool and a host of other tools but to name a few.

In course of practising to use these tools, I have learnt that in the adobe illustrator environment, mastering shortcuts and the ability to use different keys in combination would come in very handy, keys such as the shift, alt, ctrl and arrow keys.

poly_stars.jpg

Testing out the star tool, required the ability to combine the shift, alt, ctrl and arrow keys to create different kinds of stars

I have also been introduced to layers and artboards. Layers are the different separate components that make up your artwork while artboards are separate boards one uses to make artworks inside of a document.

Challenges?
Its been fun so far, coming from an AutoCAD background I seem to have no problems learning to use these tools but am guessing that real challenges will come when am trying to do more complex things but till then, I think am having fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84