ULOG 5/19/18: Too Many Antz!!! =p

in #ulog6 years ago

Hi there Steemit!

I want to talk about lovely topic today.. ANTS! not in a scientific, appreciative way, but how they are so annoying..

Even though I live most of my life in Hawaii, which IS a tropical island and has many of the little buggers, its not till I moved to PH that I truly experiances their wrath and sheer power!

We, as humans, are huge giants to any any, but when there are about 100 of them all around you.. you panic for a second and can't seem to smash them faster than more come to attack!

It's as if they all carry little walkie talkies and can radio the horde at the first sign of trouble. Even though it took me 10 minutes, and they run so fast for me to even smoosh properly, so I had to use a slapping randomly technique, I managed to slay the small horde..

20180511_111454.jpg

this is just one tiny area that I swept most of them into afterwards.

BTW, I did make the mistake of opening a chocolate bar and then leaving the room for 5 minutes to check on wifi.. I know they are just trying to survive, but I also know that if I don't defend my room, it will forever be an popular ant zone!

So, here's a trick I learned after living here in philippines..

Construct a tower to put your food on top of and try and seal (air-tight) any food you have.. ants CAN climb by forming ant pyramids (like in the movie) so this technique only buys you time and still you should seal everything. (I think they can smell as good a shark smells blood in the water)..

20180511_114913.jpg

An even better tactic seems be building a moat (0big pan of water or something) the maybe a smaller bowl within that, or even better.. combine both tactics and have a tower in the middle of the moat and the food sealed on top.

Ants also never seem to risk freezing to death and enter a cold area.. such as a refrigerator. (called simply ref over here) Maybe it kills the smell of the food?

:P

k, nuff of that silly post..

Have a good day all,

Ben


steemit achievers
https://discord.gg/vCqFuzn






steemgigs (server on discord - everyone is welcome, come chat and share..)
https://discord.gg/xk95XHq

Sort:  

I like it

Simple but useful trick!

one u learn fast after getting swarmed a few times..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73