Ulog #8: Visiting the Moving WallsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago

I'm behind on this, but I need to tell you all about my experience that occurred back on July 29th. It was that morning that I decided to join my family on a short trip to the Moving Wall. Having not come to my town of Wilmington, Mass, since at least twenty or so years past, it was nice to see something so spectacular and of such exquisite architecture Show up practically at my doorstep.

The morning started with a nice breakfast at Cracker Barrel; what cute little things they have in their country store, and dang, do I wish there were more of them in massachusetts. As far as I'm aware, there are only two of them, one in Tewksbury, and the other is somewhere out in the western part of the state. I got fruit-topped pancakes, and since they have multiple fruit choices for this on the menu, I was in the mood for blackberries that day. That's what I did. It was after breakfast that things got wicked interesting.

A Blast From The Past

It was several years ago, now, that I had the wonderful opportunity to visit the Vietnam War Memorial in Washington, D.C. That trip was hectic, rushed, and it felt as if there was no time to simply sit and enjoy the sights at all whatsoever. I'm sure you know what I'm talking about; those trips organized by organizations such as churches, youth groups, schools, and so on? Well, this one was organized by the church for my CCD class, and it was more Hell than anything for us. Anyway, that was back in 2006, and the point is, that is the last time I saw this piece of magnificence. Come to 1984 ... Since then, a moving replica of the Wal was erected in order to accommodate anyone who couldn't get to D.C. for some reason or other, but who still wanted to leave some sort of acknowledgement for a loved one or friend who died back in the war? Well, comes the Moving Wall. A beautiful, almost perfect replica of the real thing. I wish I could provide a picture here, but I was too respectful to take any. According to the volunteer who spoke to us, the Wall has been moving around the country since 1982, though the site states 1984. Not sure where the discrepancy is. You would actually have to have been there running your fingers gently across each of the carved names to know how it felt, even for one such as myself, who knows no one who died in vietnam. Regardless, it's still staggering when you look at how many names are up there, and to consider the fact that each was someone's son or daughter, brother, sister, and so on. Either way, it was amazing.

The Moving Wall Site is here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47