ULOG 2: Posting to the thirtydayblacknwhite challenge

in #ulog6 years ago

ulog how to Post on steemit.jpg

Are you struggling to post daily on your steemit blog? You cannot be a blogger if you do not blog! Developing a daily habit is not always easy. Here is an idea that might help you get started.

@bxlphabet and @fitinfun are now posting to the thirtydayblacknwhite challenge and it is not hard at all!

This challenge is just like it says in its title. Post one black and white photo daily for 30 days. Here are the rules:

Rules:

• Thirty black and white images that represent an aspect of your life.
• Present one image every day for thirty days.
• No people.
• No explanation.
• Use the tag - #thirtydayblacknwhite - as one of your five tags.

How simple is that?

How do you prepare 30 photos that represent an aspect of your life in black and white? Here is how we did it.

I am organized and already have all of the photos we have used for steemit in one file for each of us on my hard drive. I have been helping my son post here since he started and a lot of his old photos are in places where I have accounts. So it was a fairly simple procedure to go get 30 of them to turn into monochrome for each of us.

I looked for photos with high contrast that were all the same size. I choose to find portrait shots since that is what we have the most of. They already are part of our lives or we would not have posted them in the first place.

The biggest challenge was not to have people in each shot. They sneak in there sometimes!

I used the source photos and chose to re-process them completely. I have other files to show how they were processed the first time. I chose not to look there to keep this project somewhat fresh.

I loaded the photos to my free Canva account which conveniently allows 30 photos in any file.

I added the 30 photos to one canva project for @bxlphabet and another for @fitinfun.

I processed each photo to the same BW edit settings. I went with a high contrast and lower brightness.

I added our logos and cropped as necessary. My photos have to be cropped like crazy and @bxlphabet's are mostly fine as they are. He is a much better photographer than I am.

I altered a few of the edits to be brighter or less contrast-y as I went along. A few photos for each of us did not look good enough with the standard edit.

I named the file with the challenge name and each of our steemit names and exported them in full. With 30 photos in each file, this took a while, but not too long.

I went to the exported zip files and extracted the photos to a regular file on my hard drive.

I renamed each photo with the challenge name and a number from 1-30 for each day. Now they are just sitting there ready to post.

Done!

This set up took less than two hours from start to finish.

Now each photo is ready for the daily post.

I'm using busy for this one post a day and publishing both posts at approximately noon.

I have a template set up in busy and edit each time for the day number and appropriate tags.

I am also entering these photos in the @monochromes monomad daily challenge. This take a bit of extra standard text and an upvote for the @monochromes monomad daily post.

If appropriate, I enter these photos into other challenges as well.

The posts take about five minutes each.

Here is the first week of @blxplabet's challenge with some additional info.

Spider Painting by @bxlphabet

This is the only painting of the group. All the rest are @bxlphabet's photos.

thirtydayblacknwhite bxlphabet 1.jpg

San Diego Food Delivery Van

He took this photo for a project about his local burrito fix.

thirtydayblacknwhite bxlphabet 2.jpg

San Diego Protected Trash Container

Yes! San Diego protects its trash. You would not like any homeless scavenger to actually make money on the recycling.

thirtydayblacknwhite bxlphabet 3.jpg

San Diego Restaurant Facade

Part of the scene in my son's Filipino neighborhood.

thirtydayblacknwhite bxlphabet 4.jpg

Stormy Irish Landscape

A storm coming on while my some and his friends were out walking in Ireland. This was hard to process in black and white and in color due to the high contrast.

thirtydayblacknwhite bxlphabet 5.jpg

San Diego Construction Project

A progress shot the construction of a covered porch in the backyard of my son's home I pray he still has.

thirtydayblacknwhite bxlphabet 6.jpg

Cilantro Onions and Radishes for Sale San Diego

Showing that his food desert is not really so bad.

thirtydayblacknwhite bxlphabet 7 2.jpg

So what do you think? Can you do this too? Do you think it is a good idea? And what do you think of the photos? I would really like to know.

~ @fitinfun


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62779.83
ETH 3443.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50