uLog #46 - October 17th In Canada - Day One of Legal Cannabis

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)


Well, it's official, recreational cannabis is now legal here in Canada. I'm not sure how I feel about this yet. To be honest I've been dreading this day in some ways. Once the government sticks their noses into something you know it's going to get expensive.




Need a good laugh? Click "play"


Personally, what concerns me right now is how the laws may or may not change to accommodate Landlords. Two days ago we found a notice on our door stating that smoking cannabis in our rental unit is prohibited. I know that right now it's only a suggestion with no legal standing behind it but it could happen. My husband and I have medical licenses and consume cannabis daily. It's very effective for pain control and NOT addictive like the opiates that our Doctor prescribes.

It's disappointing that our young, new Doctors will not be learning about cannabis and its benefits anytime soon according to the Canadian Medical Assoc. Hmmmmmm. I don't really think it's too big of a stretch to think that Big Pharma might have a hand in this... until they figure out how to grab their share of the market.

I am hopeful that people who are properly educated about cannabis will have a say in how the new laws and systems will be created. It's pretty evident when you are reading or listening to reports who actually understands cannabis vs those who buy into the "Reefer Madness" propaganda. As time goes on I'm sure we will start to see positive changes but right now it's too new and different and we all know how people respond to "different".




A Rainy Wednesday Walk on Oct. 17 uLog video.


Here, in Ontario, you can now smoke cannabis where ever cigarette smoking is allowed as long as you are 19 or over. The problem at this point is obtaining your cannabis legally. Across Canada, dispensaries that want to operate legally will have closed their doors as of today. They will have to wait many months to jump through hoops in hopes of opening their doors again. Many of the "other" dispensaries will continue to operate as they are. I wonder what will happen with them?

It looks like Ontario's only legal avenue to purchase cannabis is by mail through the Ontario Cannabis Store which has been getting a hundred hits/minute today. Not a great time for Canada Post to be going on strike. I heard a report earlier today that OCS won't be able to keep up with the demand. Where will that leave the many who use medicinal cannabis? Will we be able to get it in a timely manner? I have my doubts but we will see.



Thought for the day:

"Most of the important things in the world have been accomplished by people who have kept on trying when there seemed to be no hope at all."
--Dale Carnegie



Until next time friends...




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://artemisnorth.com/ulog-46-october-17th-in-canada-day-one-of-legal-cannabis/

Sort:  

I don't understand why people are so excited for the government to turn organic cannabis into commercial cigarettes. What they do to the bud they've monopolized (in Canada) is bad enough (low potency, toxic pesticides, irradiated, improperly dried bud), I would hate to see what they would do to cannabis cigarettes. I can't believe people still pay the government to smoke arsenic, formaldehyde, ammonia, and all of the other known added carcinogens.

I'm not sure what you're referring to. I admit I'm not that well educated about the subject.

Sounds weird, but I've always argued against legalisation, only because then — as you say — the govt will stuck their noses in the trough, tax it, make it exclusive for corporates to grow/sell/etc....

I would like to think that someday I could write about Texas legalizing it too, but that will probably not happen in my lifetime. The people running this state are a bunch of asses and all they see is the weed is "evil".

I hate to say it but I agree with you. Some of the southern states are downright dangerous with the stiff penalties associated with this plant. All we can do is keep plugging along. Good to see you!

You want to know a good one? I'll tell you, whether you do or not. The US is guzbucked up that the people who are filing charges sometimes don't even know how to spell marihuana or marijuana, it is only illegal to have one of those two. It is not the spelling with the "j" either, yet everyone is charged with possession of "marijuana". It isn't a crime to have possession of hemp either, just marihuana.
At least that was the way it was about 8 years ago when I looked into it. I guess I need to take another look and see if that still holds true today.

pass the dutchie to the left hand side....

ROTHLMAO!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

I know there has been such an argument over this over recreational and medicinal use. I see it completely from a medicinal point of view, it annoys me about not being widely available from a cbd oil point of view as my other half is 65% disabled and suffers terrible back and hip pain, now as he gets older the pain is becoming arthritic, seeing also the possible good it is doing for cancer, more investment should be put into this for research to see if we can rid some of the horrible diseases there are and seeing if we can create some cures. I hope because of Canada's stance they become an industry leader in this.

I hope so too Crazy. My husband has arthritis and I have lumbar stenosis and this is far superior medication than opiates. I hope this legalization contributes to the movement towards global utilization of this amazing plant.

I could only dream of my country legalizing it, but I do think that your concerns are valid. I've heard from multiple people that they now can't smoke in their apartments any more.

I wish that it gets legalized worldwide eventually, but we're still very far from that.

You can only keep trying. Things will even out....this is all new. It astounds me in this day and age that this plant is still criminalized.

The whole situation sounds a little like the HardFork to me. ;) All jokes aside, you make a lot of good points here. I hope, once we get through this transition, that legalization is something that has more benefits than drawbacks.

LOL! It kinda does seem like a bit of a HardFork. I think it's going to take some time to iron it all out but I hope it will start to focus more on the medical uses. The only reason I was pro-legal was the possibilities that could open up for study. I'm crossing my fingers.

Have you seen the line up in Montreal's downtown shop on the 17th? It was all over the news, although the emphasis was not on those have their medical licensed users.

No I haven't but I wouldn't be surprised if it was anit-legalization. Quebec is taking a hard stance. Thanks for the head's up ...I'll have to go find a video.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 285 (10/18/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87