uLog #41 - Say It In A Song! It's Easier To Digest

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)


Tonight at the SnekkTogether over in the You Got Snekked Discord we were talking about being vegetarian vs carnivore which of course led to talking about the environment, which reminded me of a discovery I made in the Youtube universe.

This site, The Parody Project, is pure gold. How many times do you read news articles or blog posts about the horrendous atrocities against our Planet and end up in a worse funk than when you started? This site speaks out in a fun way that still hits home! Sure, I still feel angry but I'm much better informed and I enjoyed some music along the way. Confused?

Here's an example of what you will find there:

If you enjoyed the first one don't miss part two:

When I think about the state of our World I sometimes feel overwhelmed and helpless. I'm sure I'm not alone in that sentiment but this gives me hope. Most people try to do their part to help by recycling, shopping more thoughtfully and getting involved where they can in activities that promote awareness.

On the same note, many people have busy lives where our focus is on surviving our day and don't have much spare time. I am lucky that I can make that time. I get involved with local organizations that allow me to do my part, small as it is. The "Friends of Killaley Meadows" is a small group of residents that routinely pick up garbage from the river trails and report things such as Hog Weed growing or downed trees. It makes me feel good to do something but I know my efforts are minuscule compared to the actions that NEED to happen.


My Favorite Saying EVER:

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtfully committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it's the only thing that ever has.
-- Margaret Mead


The Parody Project offers their voice to the many other voices that may one day, I hope soon, band together to say, "NO! Stop killing our World!" I think until that day comes we all need to keep doing what we are doing and keep raising our voices until we are heard.

Every day we have opportunities to make a difference, let's learn to recognize them and TAKE THEM!

Thanks for taking the time to read my "crazy" rambling. Please feel free to add your thoughts. I'd love to hear them. What do you do?


Until next time friends...



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://artemisnorth.com/ulog-41/

Sort:  

Those two parodies were excellent, thanks for sharing them with those of us that missed it.

Congratulations @artemisnorth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This post has received a 4.08 % upvote from @boomerang.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 259 (9/16/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68