Ulog #18 - Reflections on My Adventures With Photography

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking about photography and what I've learned over the past several years.

The first thing I realize is that I have a lot to learn. I'm my own worst critic. I nitpick every detail. That is I used to nitpick but now I look at what I've learned and I'm pretty happy with my progress.

Okay, maybe I do still nitpick but I am happy with what I have learned and it shows in my photos.

The Best Camera Is The One In My Hands.

I know you've heard this one many times but it's so true. Take some time to learn the features and limitations of the camera in your hands. The above photo was taken from my balcony with my old Galaxy S5.

I took some time to learn how far I can zoom before it starts to look grainy. As well, I'd played around with it and was pretty sure I understood it's limitations in low light conditions. When I looked out the window and saw the scene I was able to quickly snap a few shots before the clouds moved on.

I love the movement in this shot. At times when I stare at it, I see the outer edges moving and darkening. A trick of my eyes I'm sure but I love it!

Try To Take The Best Possible Shot In Camera.

This is my personal feeling about photography. I love learning to make my camera do it's best. Each of my cameras has their own "personality". For instance, when my little Nikon Coolpix's battery is dying it gives me a dramatic "My battery is exhausted." What a queen! Some of my lenses don't do well in low light situations and they all have their own "sweet spots" when it comes to focus.

I feel good when I snap a shot that doesn't need to be manipulated. The above picture is such a shot. I was really happy with the colors and the shadows. This shot reminds of the old French paintings of skylines where everything but the sky is black.

Always Be Aware Of The Light.

Sometimes the light is perfect! The colors pop and you can imagine how the eye will be drawn around the picture.

There are other times you can see the shot but the light is all wrong. The afternoon can be the most frustrating time to shoot outdoors so you have to explore every angle and try different settings until you get the look you want. Let's face it, sometimes you just can't go back during "Golden Hour" because you'll be long gone down the trail/river/road.

If you're not aware, "Golden Hour" happens twice a day, the first is that hour after sunrise and the second is the hour before sunset. Magic happens at this time of day.

How Does It Make You Feel?

Photography is quite often like a good therapist. "And how does that make you feel?" is a question I ask myself quite often. What message does the shot convey? Does it tell a story? Or illicit emotion? It's all well and fine to say, "Oh I like this shot." but if you're aware of the message, you can fine-tune the shot until it feels right.

Yes, I know it's much more technical than this but I'm still learning so I'm not the one who should be teaching the technical aspects.

It would take too long to convey to you what I've learned about myself and my reactions to the world around me through photography. Want to understand yourself? Pick up a camera and start exploring.

Let Your Imagination Take Over.

We all perceive the world around us differently. What do you see when you look at the rock in the picture above?

I see a seascape, the surf is crashing in the foreground and the sun is dancing off the water in the middle area. Far in the distance, I see waves cresting and the background looks like mountains and/or clouds. Can you see it or is it just a rock?

Originally, I was drawn to this rock because it showed me the various water levels over the seasons. As I paddled closer I could see the scene come to life. Am I crazy? YES! But I love it.

I've found that my camera manual is my best friend! I try to keep it handy as well as my tiny little notebook to check settings I've used and jot down new things I've learned. I have really enjoyed learning how to use my Olympus OMD em-10ii in manual mode. It's well worth the effort because you have far more control over your shots.

Another hard lesson I've learned is to have several smaller SD cards instead of one large one. It's such a crushing disappointment when you lose or destroy the one SD card that has ALL your shots on it. A few 8gb cards are ideal.

Also, keep a clean lens cloth handy. I can't tell you how many times I've done the work only to find a speck of something on my lens that distorted the shot. The camera view screen can only show you so much but your PC monitor will tell all!

But most importantly, HAVE FUN! Let your imagination run wild, use the camera that's in your hand and never stop learning.

Until next time friends...

Sort:  

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

This excellent post was included in the latest issue of The Inbox Runneth Over. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way, and your support for this project and especially its occupants would be very much appreciated. Thank you for everything. Have a lovely day!

Thank you so much!!

I love the beautiful game of the sky. It's an endless color palette :)

@artemisnorth adventures is always so good and fun ..

The Best Camera Is The One In My Hands.

I still have to learn the settings on my camera which I got a few years back lol

It's not something we really think about. I had my little Nikon for six months before I really started learning it.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 131 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

You really took some beautiful shots @artemisnorth! My husband and I have learned that it’s up to us to take great shots with the camera we already have. We have been learning a lot about our camera features too and have even sat down together to watch videos on how to use it correctly. Getting out there and practicing was the best thing we have done in order to get the hang of photography. Thanks for sharing what you have learned :)

Something that I always forget (and I'm NO photographer!) is that I don't check the background before taking a shot! I had a nice shot of one of my girls recently, and didn't realise that she was flanked by two adult butts...

LOL!!! So true! I hope they were at least cute adult butts. Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75