#ulog 46 Cooked A Traditional Delicacy : Pepalto

in #ulog6 years ago

Hello my ulog friends,

Sometimes I feel like missing what I used to do to get busy and earn a few bucks. I used to cook traditional sweet treats or what we call the pinoy kakanin or delicacy. Almost always the main ingredient would be glutinous rice and grated coconut.

I still have some glutinous rice left from my previous batch of orders and any time soon this will get past its shelf life. Before that happens I must do something and turn it into a delectable snack. I know this will keep me busy a very good way to spend my idle afternoon. I had to go to the local market to buy fresh coconut and grate it manually myself. That is how people here normally do it and I intend to keep it at that. No store bought or ready made desicated coconut will be good enough.

This delicacy is what we call as pepalto or palitaw. This literally means to rise from being submerged under water. That gives you an idea now how this is cooked. You form a flat dough as big as your palm using the glutinous rice and submerge onto the boiling water. After a few minutes the dough will rise to the top which means it is already cooked and done. Take it off the water let it cool a bit and sprinkle with freshly grated coconut. You may add some sugar if you like or other things you love to add more flavor.


Here I am feeling happy with what I had accomplished. I took this selfie using my phone. I took the snack to my parents house where everyone is waiting for it. I was so happy to see everyone patiently waiting and they loved what I cooked for them.


Up close this is how the palitaw or pepalto looks like. You can pair it with coffee or your favorite cold drink if you prefer.

Hope you like my ulog. Until next time.

image

Thank you for your time. Have a great day.
Ally

steemit-border

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Posted with eSteem

steemit-border
Vote for @good-karma witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52