ULOG #5: All day PJs & the kindness of a neighbor

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG20180906104306-01.jpeg

Today started as a chilly morning and the cooling weather remained throughout the day and into the night. The littles had their PJs on pretty much the whole day, I was just glad the avocado has ripen and so I had a nice breakfast with with half an avocado and some honey on bread, not forgetting my brain hug, COFFEE.

It rained a couple of times today, and believe you me I was practically zombified. If only I could earn the privilege to nap and sleep in, alas the different schedules of both children have prevented such divine act to happen. Obviously, my coffee needed coffee today.

I recently bought a new covered dish rack, and I was eager to do the cleaning and officially put it into good use today! It's nothing fancy really, but you should see the look on my face when I found this little baby at Econsave, I was ecstatic! Truth is, I was really fed up with the previous stainless steel rack that supposedly shouldn't be rusting! (Eww, I know. Imagine double washing! The horror!!) And with all the annoying insects and crawlies that love to leave their trails behind pretty much was the straw that broke the camel's back. Yea, I'm a pissed camel. And I will spit. Hah!

So here you go, my sunshiny covered dish rack, isn't she a beauty? LOL

IMG20180906213505-01.jpeg

So with continuous cleaning and baby action I underestimated the time (again) and ended up not preparing lunch, yikes! The rain stopped for a little while and I wore the little guy as the little girl sprung out the door like a little wild horse into freedom.

We went down to the condo's canteen and ordered a fried rice takeaway, and as we reached we were greeted by a couple of tables of condo neighbors, they were mostly retired or semi retired and were having lunch.

One of our previous neighbors from the same floor (we had moved to a higher floor early last year) greeted us and was especially happy to see the little girl. His grandson is a couple of years older and they were especially fond of her when we were staying nearby.

He asked Ali if she'd like to follow him to the grocery shop next door to buy some sweets, and because Ali remembered the uncle she happily obliged. I was a little surprised but told the uncle nicely to not buy her sweets.

Lo and behold, after a few minutes they came back with this! You'd imagine a 3 year old bringing home her stash of lollies and chocolates, but they all turned out to be- you got it right, biscuits!

I was instantly in love.

Not only was I relieved, I was touched when the uncle assured me that it's just a little something from him to the little girl.

IMG20180906210732-01.jpeg

I am grateful, really. It's not everyday you get to find good neighbors that are not only loving and kind, but also respectful and considerate. I really love staying at my condo, it is not perfect, but we have come to know and build relationships with the neighbors and it's been pleasant.

These neighbors not only live here, they love and care for the condo that they took up the responsibility as committees to take care of the welfare and maintenance of the place. They look out for each other.

So after finishing lunch we enjoyed the Pocky Pocky that she chose. We tried to keep some for the dad but it didn't take long until her patience wear off and she whacked the final few pieces while I was trying to put the little brother down to nap.

I asked her to go to the living room while I nursed the baby, and she said "you want me to go to the living room alone, with Jesus?"

Yes. With Jesus.

😂


20180212_193505.png

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

20180516_002249_0001.png


@steemitbloggers

Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Hahaha what a nice post to read before going to bed mama. The simple things are really wonderful blessings, that if you add them all up is a great big blessing.

Take it easy now, sometimes if we need the children to take a nap, we just hang out in the bedroom with very little light on, tickle time and they get tired easy and should be ready for nap in no time :)

Thanks a lot for the tip @lovenfreedom!

The last line is just so sweet.

I feel you - the days i work from home i practically live in my sleep clothes. :P I rarely leave the house (lazy!) and am thankful we live in an age where we can buy groceries online.

You know what, have you ever thought of cooking your lunch while the kids are asleep and then just keep them in a warmer, or food container in an insulated bag etc. You get the idea. I love avos with honey too. I've tried another recipe where the avos are mashed with a dash of salt and some lemon juice and spread on toasted bread. Goes nice with your coffee too!

Oooohhh, I shall try that one day!! Sounds so yum, thanks @ladylei!

Sounds like a lovely day! I absolutely love avocado! And being that I'm up way past my bedtime, now I am craving an avocado snack, but I know we don't have any. Sigh... I'll just look at that photo again and drool, lol!

That's wonderful that you have such nice neighbors!

Aww, no worries I'm sure you will grab some soon during the day! Here, have some virtually! My treat! 😆 @crowbarmama 😘

@alimamasstory Thank you! I actually had some yummybulletproof decaf coffee today. Yum!😀

Sounds like a perfect day!
LOVE the avocado sandwich!

😘😘😘 Go grab some @goldendawne!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44