ULOG: Episode 17: No More GoatssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago

Zara told me the other day that we wouldn't be able to afford the goats over the winter. With me working at the airport and possibly needing to travel soon, and her being sick for the past couple months and unable to lift her arms over her head, she made the call. And subsequently made a phone call. A guy came by this morning to buy them all.

To our surprise, one of them had babies! I assume yesterday while it was cold and snowy out and we didn't really want to be outside.
I held them for a few minutes while everyone else was loaded in the truck. Here they are, the only time we'll see them.
20190113_104713.jpg

We made a little money off of them all. He told us he would be giving one to an Amish woman, a couple to another family, and he'd be keeping the rest. He owns his own goat farm about 15 or so miles east of us.

These are the last pics I'll be taking of goats for quite a while I'm sure.
20190113_104815.jpg

20190113_104825.jpg

And off they all went. Maybe one day we'll be able to have goats again, but we will have to make sure we are better prepared. Maybe we'll even be able to buy back a kid from these ones. That would be neat.

Anyway, thanks to a few years of raising goats, we should have enough biomass to enrich our soil and actually be able to grow things. We might try growing hemp.

We still have all our chickens though, and we'll be getting eggs from them again soon!


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I'm so sorry you have to say goodbye to your goats! That is heartbreaking. I hope you can get goats again too. They're truly the best people I know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83