#ULOG- LOOKING AT MY PAST SELF (featuring me brodduhs)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever tried looking at old photos of yourself then say, "was this really me?". I'm sure you have... well, at least I assume you have. If not, try it. It brings back nostalgia. If you can't, then I'm sorry you have no one to take your photo when you were a kid haha XD jkjk.

Let me shortly introduce myself. I'm the second eldest brother among the five sons of me mom. Yis, FIVE SONS. All of us are boys. There's an explanation here as to why we became five (according to me grandma).

First, it was just three, which is acceptable considering that we were at a time of poverty (hear the story here: https://steemit.com/ulog/@akome254/ulog-when-two-opposites-meet-each-other-meet-my-parents-3)

But since mom wanted a girl, these two came out.

Actually I'm not supposed to be the second eldest child of me mom. I'm actually the 3rd. The supposed to be second child wasn't able to mature fully in the womb, and he /she fell out early. I can't recall the medical term they use to describe this case... just leave it down below in the comments if you want-- to help out this dummy.

My mom was sort of desperate to have a baby girl so everytime she gets a chance to hold one she doesn't hesitate to do so. I'm fine with that because I get to see her smile but as the years go by, I think my mom may have influenced me too...but don't worry, I know my limits. I just thought, "what would it be like to have a younger sister?"... And there she blows.

Trololololo haha XD. That's actually my cousin, Julia.

She's sort of somewhat my younger sister but it wasn't what I was expecting. I imagined someone calling me onii-chan everyday, forcing me to wake up early in the morning while calling me "baka!" hahaha XD just kidding.

But seriously, I like being called "kuya" by anyone younger than me :), whether it be a boy or a girl... well there are still exceptions.

A little trivia: Our "bunso" or the youngest of us brothers was said to be the younger version of me since we share the closest resemblance to each other when it comes to our faces, although me and my older brother other were often mistaken as twins when we were in elementary.

Going back to the topic, because mom couldn't get a girl... welp, here we are. Five little monkeys and a gorilla as she would often say way back then.

I really can't believe that that was me. The ME in the past. The first time I saw these pics after a long time a thought came to me like...

"What happened (-_-) ?".

The smooth skin

The plump chicks

My dimple...

All gone (T-T)...

but at least, we're still together...

Even if we have to leave the past self where everything was pure, fun and carefree (from my perspective)...

... we get to see our present self. That enough is already a reward. God allowing us to live for this long. Being given the chance to see the ugly to appreciate the beautiful even more.

Looking at my old self makes me remember the fun in being poor, the joy of playing hide-and-seek during brownouts, the love of my parents to us kids and most importantly the prayer I made to God when I was still 6 years old that "sana po manatili po kaming buo kahit anong mangyari, kahit anong hirap o pagsubok man ang aming pagdaanan (I hope we stay as a whole whatever happens, no matter what difficulty or trial we face)."

.

I hope you enjoyed listening to my inner thoughts :3

Please don't forget to upvote, follow me if you still haven't and I hope you stay tuned to "akome254, the me within me..."

Thank you very much! ^ ^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83