Exposed

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I just read this article of @meno a few minutes ago, talking about unfollowing people on Steem, why he did that, how he feels about it and how would some perceive this "action" and thought why not develop his idea even further and stating my point to the topic with a bit more of my personal related opinions.

As I commented on his posts earlier, I don't see any problem at all in unfollowing anyone around here, anyone, especially if one has made the same mistake of following to many people as I did at the beginning of my Steen journey. That's life, sometimes you bite more than you can chew and you realize you have to spit out some of that chunk you have in your mouth or you simply realize that it's not the taste you expected or why not it's simply musty, so, there's no use to eat it anyway.

Now, that I pointed out my view on @meno's recent post I will take out of "the closet" some things that I see unnatural around here and somehow relate to his topic. The first that I find awfully boring to read about and I don't see any sense of it is the justifies some people give us, without any asking for them, like for example, why the guy/gal hasn't posted for a while. Like you have a contract with Steem to post three times a day or whatever you consider "your normal thing" and if you haven't you have to advocate your absence.

WhatsApp Image 2018-08-05 at 11.26.46.jpeg

I've seen that many times and I see all of these posts just a waste of time in writing them. I don't care about why you haven't posted for a week and am sure many other don't. There might be some situations where you had an important event that you want to share with us and that's the reason which kept you away from the platform, but in general if I like your stuff and I like you as a blogger I will read you even after a year of absence without expecting any justifying letter. Trust me, you wont get any unfollow from me. As Tupac said once a homeboy always a homeboy. So, I don't see any use in such justifying articles. I haven't posted for two days, for examples, but who cares. The ones that usually read my posts will read this one also without asking me hey man where have you been?

Now that I expressed my rant about such situations I will point out also why I think this happens for some users and also why I find that annoying. It's because of the transparency that we have around here. It's too much of it.

On Steem there's almost nothing you can hide or keep private. Every post, comment, reply, transfer, follow and unfollow, upvote and flag is registered and can be accessed by almost any user through one of Steem's interfaces or some bot, like Gina for example. I'm not interested in this type of infos, but I am aware of the accessibility of them and I also see this situation as a flaw. Plus, for some, this might be the reason to justify and explain why they did, to whom they did, or what will they do.

I am "a fan" of transparency and I see its use cases, but sometimes too much of it is becoming invasive and useless, in my opinion. I, for example, would prefer to have my wallet private and would prefer nobody could access the info on who I followed or unfollowed. These are personal things in real life, as we don't check each others wallets, and I would prefer them to be the same around here also, but on the social media platforms, starting with Facebook, some of them became public and accessible to anyone something that I can't say I like and agree with. BUT, unfortunately, I can't do anything about it. Either accept the situation or get myself out of the platform, but for now there are too many reasons for me to stay than to leave.

Now, having a sunny Sunday that waits for me to get out and get some tan, I will end my statement here by say again that it's OK to unfollow whoever you feel like and it's also OK to have your pauses from your Steem activity without justifying them. It's decentralized, remember? So there's no authority to offer you reasons to, for every action around here, BUT there's a good way to interact and get to know each other better if you do that. IMO.

@meno hope I haven't bothered by tagging you in the post.

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

Hello! Please put a number to your ulog title post. Here's the guidelines/tips of ulogs below

ulog_script1.jpg
ulogs_script.jpg

We'll be looking forward to your next #ulog post. Thank you and have a wonderful day! Keep steeming.
Please follow us and read more about #ulogging here in: https://steemit.com/@ulogs

I don't care about why you haven't posted for a week and am sure many other don't.

Haha I really like this statement because it is the harsh truth lol. I mean who cares, if we really like who we follow it does not even matter. And if they really like it here they will come back. It's the need to explain everything single thing and justify ourselves. Just be real.

I don't really like this 'vulgar display of power' or wallet. Can you imagine someone in real life also checking on your wallet or how much you have and how annoying and rude that would be? Here it becomes normal to check on other people's Steem Power (because it is transparent) as if that's the only measure of our status in the Steemit society.

I would definitely vote for a private wallet. In some cases though the visibility of the SP is somehow an advertising tool so it's not disturbing for anyone.

hey brother.... i don't like this payout, too small.. lemme bring you some love.

Thanks. Keep up with the good work!

@acesontop Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95