People think I am crazy to want to visit Ukraine in War Time

in #ukraine11 months ago

pexels-nur-yilmaz-9168326.jpg
I was at a school reunion this weekend. Thirty years! It was good to see some old acquaintances again, especially Maurie. He has led an interesting life for the past three decades, traveling all over the globe for work.

But when he heard that I was planning to visit Ukraine next April, his eyes went wide.

"You know there's a war on, right? With bombs and missiles and such?"

I nodded and smiled.

"Are you sure you want to go now?"

I nodded again.

"Can't you wait another few months?"

"My ticket has been booked and paid for. No refunds. No exchanges." (Because I don't WANT to change my mind, I didn't add.)

"Well, I think you are crazy!"

Actually - for the record - I don't think I am crazy at all! On the contrary, I think it is important that foreigners travel through Ukraine, talk to Ukrainians about topics that are not war-related, and let them know that they have not been forgotten. It is also important to break bread and share genuine laughter, something that has been in short supply, there, lately.

I also want to go to some of the cemeteries and mass burial sites to the west of Kyiv (Bucha and Irpin, amongst others) and pay my respects to the fallen. I am not sure how I will do that, but I am sure I can find someone to guide me in that regard. It will be spring, so garlands of wildflowers will probably suffice. Or maybe - as in the blog photograph - a bunch of sunflowers, although I doubt they will be available. Another idea is to buy packets of wildflower seed and literally go and sow them. Not sure how that will be received - once again, I shall need guidance.

Yes, I am going to treat this as a sightseeing trip, and maybe find a good property to purchase in the process, but it is firstly about the PEOPLE. Those are a country's most precious resources and should always be valued.

Photo by Nur Yilmaz: https://www.pexels.com/photo/bouquet-of-fresh-sunflowers-wrapped-in-craft-paper-on-table-9168326/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41