Hello from Great Britain!

in #uk8 years ago

Hello likeminded people!

I go by Nitro here on Steemit and have believed in Anarcho-capitalism as the ideal structural system for society for some years now. I will undoubtedly write quite a bit as time goes on, but for now I'll just give you a quick assessment of what it's like in Britain for one enlightened mind surrounding the Brexit vote.

Having grown up in Switzerland, I have naturally been pro-liberty and a staunch defender of neutrality since I became interested in politics. In the run-up to the Brexit vote I therefore promoted these ideas amongst my colleagues, extolling the virtues and real life advantages of not having an unelected bureaucracy dictate life choices. While I do not believe that the Swiss system of direct democracy will spread, as it requires a sizeable amount of political maturity that has been bred out of most "voters", I also illustrated this useful tool to choose what your nation should look like.

Like Ipsos, I too expected a 52%-48% in favor of the remain camp and was therefore well pleased when British voters decided in favor of greater independence.

Since that day, however, my suspicions that something is amiss have solidified. Just like the statist oligarchy made sure Scotland did not vote to leave the UK, I never thought they would allow a Brexit vote to succeed, or failing that, actually proceed to leave the EU.

Over a month on, I still doubt that the UK will properly leave the EU. The government has gone through all the motions to signal their intent, but their actions are much more like delaying tactics, waiting for and finding excuses for not following through.

Given geopolitical trends, I cannot help but believe that either the UK will never leave the EU or that some much worse development needs a bridgehead. I remain hopeful that my cynicism is misplaced.

Sort:  

Congratulations @nitro! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nitro! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44