British support for the Nazis while bombing Spain

in #uk7 years ago (edited)

The civil war in Spain from 1936 to 1939 was a prelude of WWII. Although many countries claimed to be neutral that was not the case and the support for the fascist side was strong in many countries.

Nazi Germany did not hide the facts and sent troops, ships and planes to fight for fascist Spain.

At the same time, United Kingdom supported by blocking imports from the democratic Spanish side. The Conservatives, the media and the monarchy were string supporters of Nazi ideas. This has not changed much, the WWII it was not indeed about ideas, but about power.

Modern conservative party is not very different.

But I will post here some pictures of british support of Nazism.

Admiral Scheer in Gibraltar:

German boats attacked ports in Spain. Battleship Deutschland was badly damaged by Spanish airplanes, and took refugee in Gibraltar were british were extremely keen on helping them to recover the wounded and bury the dead.

Some images of the funeral for Nazi sailors in Gibraltar with british nationals performing nazi salute.

On enquiry, I found that the German pocket-battleship Deutschland, which had been bombed off the Spanish coast, was coming in with twenty-six dead and eightywounded on board. We took the wounded to our hospital at once. The Germans do not bury at sea if within reach of a port so, at their request, we buried the dead in our cemetery - a very impressive ceremony at which both the British Admiral and I attended. Before the funeral, however, the Deutschland for some reason was ordered to go to sea, leaving only her chaplain, and the ceremony was, therefore, wholly British.

The Germans were so appreciative of the goodness of our medical officers, nursing sisters and medical orderlies, that they honoured them by the grant of German decorations and signed photographs, etc. The highest German order of the Red Cross was awarded to the British Admiral, Rear-Admiral Evans, and to myself, which we greatly appreciated.

General Sir Charles Harington Harington, a British army officer

Nazi sailors playing football with British soldiers

And a letter by Sir Charles

My letter of August 18, 1937. Government House, Gibraltar.

My dear admiral, I want before you leave Gibraltar to send you a line to thank you most sincerely for the way in which you have conveyed the thanks of Der Fuhrer and your great nation, and your great Navy for the help given by the Staff and Medical Services in Gibraltar to your sailors in the Deutschland.

I want you to take back with you the knowledge that every act that was done for your good sailors was done with that grand spirit of goodwill and fellowship which is so essentialto both of our great nations. It brought out that great characteristic of the sailors, soldiers and airmen of both of our nations that we always honour the brave and always helpothers in time of trouble.

May I say that you did the whole ceremony so beautifully, and in so dignified a manner in a way that I shall never forget. I feel that in every act and in every sentence you express you were helping to strengthen that essential link between our two nations. I hope that you will express to Der Fuhrer my deepest thanks for this great honour which has been bestowed upon myself and on those under me.

May I ask that my sympathy be extended to the relatives of those who lost their live sin this tragic incident, and may I hope also that the wounded will shortly be restored to health, and hope that they will always keep a place in their hearts for those who helped themin Gibraltar.
To me this honour has an added sentiment. I finish my active career in a few months and I shall always treasure the fact that the last honour I can receive comes from the nation for which I have the most profound respect.
Again my most sincere thanks. Yours very sincerely, (Sgd.) C. H. Harington, Gibraltar.

And another

His reply Gibraltar, 19th August, 1937 - Admiral Scheer. Der Hottenchef your excellency,

I tender to your Excellency my sincere and warmest thanks for your kind letter, and at the same time for your friendly reception afforded to the ships under my command and to myself in Gibraltar. I would like to assure your Excellency how much I welcome such occasions, when as soldier to soldier and as man to man we come closer to each other.

I see in this the best way of promoting understanding between our countries. On this depends so much the mutual well being of our nations and the consequent well being of Europe and its civilization. We soldiers and sailors have the same cares and tasks and the same understanding in respect to each others difficulties. From these identical aspects emanates our mutual esteem and regard.

May this in the future be the case between our two nations in all respects. It is a pleasure to me to be of the same opinion as your Excellency on this point. I wish you with repeated thanks all the best for the future, and also for the time when after active service you return home.

With my most respectful sentiments, I remain, Yours sincerely, (Sgd.) R. Carls, Admiral,

Sort:  

history , it is what it is ,good article :)

Congratulations @avempace! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @avempace! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51