The daily game/ Better life/ 22nd/10/2021/A litter of eleven piglets farrowed today.

in #uganda3 years ago (edited)

Greetings to you all stimians. Hope this story finds you well. It has been another day that God has blessed my piggery farm with a litter of 11 piglets.
20190206_101337.jpg

Since my childhood, I grew up in a peasant family, where we were mostly depending on agriculture to earn a living. Under agriculture, we specialized in piggery and cattle farming as well as growing maize, beans among other serial crops. Not forgetting, a banana plantation from which we used to get banana (matooke) for our daily meals.

Piggery farming supported our family much more in times of our studies for both me and my sisters. My great fighter and a loving woman who was a widow(my mother), used to sell at least two sows at every begining of a school term in order to pay for our school fees.

From that background, I grew up knowing that one can do piggery farming as a business. I started with one gilt (a female pig that has not farrowed any set of piglets yet), This gilt farrowed a litter of 13 piglets of which one piglet died at an early stage just two days after birth. I sold off 11 out of the remaining piglets immediately after clocking two months after birth. I was very excited as I sold them at Ushs100,000/= each. The one left, was kept in the farm to help in the multiplication of more pigs in the farm. I noticed one thing and that is; when you have a good breed, you can not maximize the market.

"MOTHER" (the sow with one month piglets for her second set)
IMG-20211010-WA0026.jpg

"DAUGHTER" (The gilt that has just farrowed)
IMG-20211010-WA0025.jpg

I have also sold some of piglets for the sow that she farrowed on her second set. I am remaining with only six piglets out of which four of them are already booked.
IMG-20210928-WA0022.jpg

Today morning, I have got a phonecall from my mum that the gilt has farrowed eleven piglets. It has been so surprising that I asked my sister to get me a photo of them in order to share my simple story with you.
Tomorrow these piglets will be clipped off their teeth in order to prevent them from biting their mother in their fight to get hold on her teats to suck.
The pain caused, may disturb the mother causing her to get up and prevent her piglets from feeding. The mother's udder can also get germs and hence being infected. Therefore, it is always advantageous to clip piglets' teeth.

I have more hope in this project and I encourage every one who has ever wanted to invest in such, to go ahead.

Thank you for reading this post. Kindly up vote and share.

Sort:  

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Keep creating good content on Steemit.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30