How To Survive Theft

in #uganda6 years ago

This world is so tricky, somethings can happen to you when you least expect them, even the more cautious people can bare me witness that they have been scammed or stolen before. There those people who judge others when they are stolen but trust me the day your stolen is when yo will understand these thief victims. I have always been smart and very careful never to fall prey of these heartless people until this year around April when luck wasn't on my side, I couldn't believe that the stories I used to tell my friends and family about how people are stolen were happening to me, it was like dying in my own movie. I happened to board a taxi from city oil petrol station in kamwokya at 8;30pm heading back to town from work, we reached a place called wandegeya and so many passengers got out leaving only the 5 of us, little did I know that I was left with thieves. They took a route to lumumba avenue and i was thinking they were dodging traffic like most of the other taxis do. The guy seated next to me started engaging me into a fortune teller jazz as he claimed to be one, i have always been scared of these things of knowing what lies ahead of me so of cource i resisted the jazz. The lady who was seated on the right hand side of the guy seemed more interested in fortune telling as she claimed everything the guy foretold was true, the guy continued to foretell about me not caring if i was interested or not, he claimed to want to help me promising not charge me any money. He foretold the common things like you have a boyfriend, enemies, someone set you up with medicine and you skipped it, your going to get an accident in 3 days, your boyfriend is cheating on you and that woman is bewitching you, at that moment i gave him some of my attention until he dropped the last big lie of how i work and study at the same time. At this moment i knew he was lying and up to something so i resisted more, the driver advised me to listen to the guy, the fortune teller started to threaten me of how I will go mad and a car would run over me while crossing the road if i don't take his words seriously. I got so scared for my life, imagined myself going mad, he told the other lady to say certain words which she did, when my turn came to say them i refused and this got the guy angry, he widened his eyes, said certain things in a language i don't understand. All this happened while we were all still in the taxi, he told us to hold our hands together with the lady but i still refused so with so much energy they both pulled my right hand away from the bag i was holding to the hand of the other lady, what happened in next one or two minutes i don't know. Just found myself on the middle of the road which was kinda hidden from the tarmac road with only myself and what i was wearing. All i heard was the sound of the car disappearing plus all my belongings were gone, i was left wounded and stranded there in the dark, wondering how i was going to get the hell out of there. How i got out of there will be a story for another day, shortly after a month i was stolen again but that will also be a story for another day. After all this happened i wondered how this could have happened to me with all the stories i had been told, i felt stupid and cursed those thieves several times, i wondered why they did this to me after claiming to be a born again christian,bthat he was from a very strong christian background and the lady, i couldn't believe she was part of this. Women are supposed to give life and love to others, what if someone did this to her children? but at the end of the day i learnt that this world is full of evil and never to judge anyone who is stolen because sometimes we are caught off guard.

So I came up with a list of how to avoid these incidences and theft, am not saying if you follow them they will completely never steal you because these thieves always come up with new tactics but hey prevention is better than cure.

Always be cautious

Never think of making easy quick money, sincere work comes with hard work and sweat

Do not trust strangers - i know some of you love to help but where this world is heading you can't afford to lose your life or property to a stranger

Distribute your money in different places, this one is especially for my fellow ladies keep your money in different pockets of your bag and some in your jeans, coats or pockets in your clothes. If you don't have any pocket at least put it in your bra

Do not write or move with your passwords/pin numbers

Keep your money in the safest places while moving

Listen to your instincts for example if an inner voice tells you not to go to a certain place, please don't. Sometimes even your body language can tell you something, God works in mysterious ways to warn us but we choose to ignore most times

Do not go to places you didn't plan to go to

Do not carry valuables or a lot of money in crowded or unsafe places

Check yourself every time to make sure your safe and your property is intact

Do not speak to strangers who stop you to talk, not all of them have good intentions

If possible you should carry some objects for protection like a razor blade, needle, sprays to distract these thieves

Avoid getting in body contact with strangers for example hand shakes

Helping is good but not at the expense of losing our property and harming our lives, not every innocent face or those who use christianity are real

theft3.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37