UFC Fight Night 111 Singapore Holm Vs CorreiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ufc7 years ago (edited)

UFC Fight Night 111 Holm vs Correia Singapore

UFC-Fight-Night-111-Holm-Correia-Singapore.jpg

The preacher's daughter, Holly Holm, returns to the octagon after a controversial loss in her fight against Germaine de Randami, in the UFC's first ever 145lb Featherweight title fight. Holm has returned to the 135lb division to show her dominance with a 5" reach advantage and world class striking. She will be up against the 'Pitt Bull' Bethe Correia. Correia is known for her aggressive brawler style, recognized for her striking, spinning back fist, and aggressive right hand. The Pitbull is also well known for her Dirty Boxing and cutting of the cage. Her Standard strategy is to move the fight towards the fence to negate any reach advantage her opponent may have.

This Brazilian Mixed Martial Artist will be headlining on a UFC Card for the second time in her career. Correia isn't fazed by the former UFC and World Boxing Champion, in an interview with MMAjunkie, she stated

“I think Holly is overrated because they expected too much from her,” Correia said. “They expect more than what she’s been doing. I’m not saying she’s a bad athlete. But people are disappointed after her fights. They think, ‘I expected more from her.’ With the exception of the Ronda fight – there, she performed strategically. Also, it wasn’t Ronda’s day. Maybe if she fought Ronda today, Ronda would beat her. These things happen. Sometimes it’s just not the person’s day.”

She went on to say...

“I’m not uncomfortable in any area. I hit very hard. I trust myself in every situation of the fight. On the ground, or my boxing. I’m fully confident. Because my boxing it’s adapted to MMA. I don’t come from boxing and had to adjust my ring game to MMA. They’re entirely different things. So I really trust my MMA game.”

The pressure is on for Holly Holm, after coming from three straight losses, she will be under the pump to show she still has what it takes in an extremely competitive division.

" A three-fight losing streak? I’ve never been here in my life,” Holm told MMAjunkie ahead of UFC Fight Night 111. “I’ve never had a two-fight losing streak, so it’s one of those things I have to overcome in my own mind. … It’s all me. It’s all on me. Nobody can fight for me. I’m the only one that can do it when I’m in there. I know I’m more capable than what my last three-fight records shows. That’s just something I’m going to have to overcome on my own."

Coming up to UFC Fight Night 111, Holm has said she likes her chances, as this is the kind of fight she is suited for. The 'Pit Bull' is a brawler who prefers to come forward and throw aggressive strikes, which will play right into Holm's game plan as a counter striker.

Holm said she can’t make any assumptions though. After all, some of the fights during her recent slump had appeared to be tailor-made for her style, however they didn't go her way.

“She’s going to be aggressive, and she’s not going to turn away from you,” Holm said of Correia. “She faces a challenge, and those are sometimes the toughest opponents because they’re going to take whatever comes at them. With that being said, I know I’m tough too. I know that I have the experience, I know I’m technical, and I know that I’m capable. And I do believe that my skill set is better."

“That doesn’t mean that it’s in the bag. That does not mean that the victory is easy. I have to take Bethe at her best, and you never know what’s going to happen when you get in there. I want to be adaptable and take the fight where it goes.”

Holm said she’s not simply shooting for the win at UFC Fight Night 111; she wants to win emphatically.

“I don’t want to let another opportunity go by and not make the best of it,” she said. “That’s been a sore ache in my side for the past three fights. I hate to lose, and I just want the taste of victory. I don’t want to be there just to experience it. I’m not ever there for a participation ribbon. I’m there for a victory, and that’s all there is to it.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60754.63
ETH 2349.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53