Daniel Cormier Talked To Stipe Miocic Before Accepting UFC 226 Fight And had NO plans on fighting at Heavy Weight.

in #ufc7 years ago

 Cormier had no plans on moving back to heavy weight. His close friend Cain Velasquez, who is a former UFC heavyweight champion , is in that weight division and is one of the reasons he never intended to go back to the division.

So what changed his mind ? 

It's not of question of what but who .... It was Dana White. Cormier describes his conversation ( with Dana White ) and his re-peaked interest in fighting at Heavy Weight  below.

 "History. The guy doesn't only sell you on financial incentives, he sells you on history," He ( Dana White ) has worked with me for a number of years now so he knows the types of things that make me perk up.

"' (It's) Something that no one has ever done,'" Cormier continued. "Sure, 170 [pounds] and 185, 155, and 145, yes, but no one has legitimately tried as the light heavyweight champ to go fight the heavyweight champ.

"'This is the battle for the baddest man on the planet.'"

He still wasn't completely sold on fighting at heavy  weight. There was still one more thing he wanted to do. What is that you ask ? Talk to the current heavy weight champion himself, Stripe Miocic.

"I spoke with Stipe, I called Stipe," Cormier revealed. "Obviously, you know, great guy, I got to spend some time with him, fantastic champion, just a pillar of his community. I can't say enough good things about Stipe Miocic."

"With that being said, I told Stipe for $500,000, I'm not fighting Stipe Miocic. I threw out a big[ger] number and said for that number, I'm fighting Stipe Miocic. He goes, 'I fu*king love you.'

"That's what he said. I said for the right numbers we need to do this. His wife is in the back going, 'Yes, DC!'"


Miocic also confirmed that he spoke with Cormier before the fight was agreed to.

"I wanted to make sure it was right financially and everything, too. It's a super fight, so I had to make sure it was right financially and make sure it was OK with my wife, too. And make sure it was OK with him. It's a two-way street. We were both OK with it. Why not? Let's do it. It's what the fans want to see."

It looks like the two were on the same page and rightfully got a pay increase for their future bout. 

Who takes this one ? Give your prediction below.


Source : https://www.flocombat.com/articles/6097558-daniel-cormier-talked-to-stipe-miocic-before-accepting-ufc-226-fight


Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32