Anthony ‘Rumble’ Johnson admits “I was never a fighter”, quits the UFC to sell medical marijuana?

in #ufc7 years ago

AJ.jpg


Self love


In a revealing interview with former WWE star Booker T, ex-UFC standout Anthony 'Rumble' Johnson revealed the real reason he is walking away from MMA,

My health. You hear about CTE and all this other stuff. Head injuries. You’re harming your body playing football... but this stuff can happen just as fast in mixed martial arts as any other sport, because we’re constantly beating on each other. I love myself... A lot of guys don't think about that…. I’m not about that life. I’m not a fighter. Fighting was just natural to me. I was just so athletic, I caught on to everything real quick. I was never meant to fight. I was meant to do something else, something greater.”


What’s next?


Johnson also revealed what he will be doing next.

We’re opening up a facility, you know what I mean… it’s for medical uses, if you know what I mean. We’re getting it in that way. We got some good things going on. It’s already big. We're just waiting for that law to pass and whenever it passes, we’re golden.

Reading between the lines it looks like Rumble will be involved in some sort of medical marijuana facility. Johnson also suggested he would be making more money from the venture than from fighting with the obvious advantage of not causing himself bodily harm.


Eye opening


Johnson’s revelations are eye-opening.

I wonder how many sportsman (and women) do what they do simply because they are good at it. Not because they are passionate about it.

Such a mindset is taboo to most hardcore fans, many of whom structure much of their life around their love a sport. As the ex-Liverpool manager Bill Shankly once said famously about football,

Some people think football is a matter of life and death. I don't like that attitude. I can assure them it is much more serious than that.

The idea that some of the sport stars they idolise merely see what they do as a job is anathema to many fans. However I suspect the view Johnson expressed is shared by many other athletes. Johnson fought simply because he was good at it. He took a logically decision to move on before he ended up ‘getting his clock cleaned’ by ‘young, bigger strong’ fighters. Good on him.


Pain relief


It might surprise some to hear about Johnson moving from UFC into the medical marijuana business.

It doesn’t surprise me.

Many fighters use marijuana. I listened to an interview with Kelvin Gastelum. Gastelum was recently suspended for 3 months after testing positive for marijuana. He explained he took marijuana as a pain relief. He has a medical use exemption however had prohibited amounts in his blood close to a fight. He explained the pain he goes through, training and beating his body up day-in, day-out in preparation for a fight.

I find it ironic that mma fighters can physically abuse themselves as much as they want for our entertainment. However are frowned upon when they ‘abuse’ their bodies to relieve the pain.


Astute


I think Johnson has made an astute move. I believe it is only a matter of time before marijuana is removed from the banned list of substances in mma and many other sports. It is believed that the NFL are in talks about allowing it’s use. Johnson also has well documented connections with the LA Rams. When that time comes, Johnson and his new ‘facility’ could be in prime position to snap up some high profile clientele.

Looks like Johnson has not only left the UFC with his faculties intact… but he is making good use of them!

Watch Johnson's interview:

Sort:  

Probably a wise decision, mma is a cruel sport but man am I bummed out that we did not see the Rumble vs Jon Jones fight, he was the guy I could see giving problems to Jon Jones in their division.

I'm sad to see Rumble leave the sport.. but I'm willing to bet nobody in the LHW division is.

Cool news to sport...

Wow this is news to me lol.

I saw a breakdown of his last fight, and you could see his heart wasn't in it. He just wanted out, he didn't want to be like the cop on his last day on the service who gets shot.

In other news have you seen that McGregor has signed? Hoping Floyd does as well, as I think I'll run out of saliva from salivating so much! :-)

Cg

Wow, that's a real switch up from the adrenaline fueled mayhem of the octagon!

Well, I for one wish him all the success in his new venture as I still find it hard to believe that a naturally grown plant from God's green earth can land people in trouble with the law.

Pain and ligament damage are very real issues for these incredible athletes so I fully support his motives. Spread awareness and force change!

Awesome post, buddy. Keep steeming on strong!

smart move!

I never understood who could really ENJOY staying in the ring being beaten up and I fully understand how weed helped him. I for instance smoke after most of my training, since they are way too long and exhausting. I stopped for like 3 months before World Ultimate Championship, because there were supposed to be some anti-doping tests. It was my passion and hard work which got me where I’m, not weed (that is helping me only mentally, which as far as I’m concerned shouldn’t be a problem…Sportsman are just people too and they deserve to be happy using any instrument they wish that isn’t directly boosting they physical abilities). The whole “sports against drugs” thingy (like weed was a drug) is so outdated and as the NFL article proves, it only lead to taking not-prohibited chemical drugs. I hope for all the NFL athletes that the prohibitions ends for them. If it will, maybe it will serve as an example for the rest of the sport associations! And that will affect my future too, so I highly approve!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83