🔹 What's Next For Kevin Lee and The Lightweights

in #ufc7 years ago


Image Source

Kevin Lee's Loss Sets Him Back


First off just wanted to say I was busy for the past week or so which explains my inactivity. What a terrible time to stop posting though considering the amazing performances that happened last week. Missed a lot of opportunities to make great posts which is a bummer, anyway I caught a little break now so here I am...

Back to Kevin. Here we saw the opposite of what happened between Whittaker and Romero. Whittaker was the up and comer who boomed onto the scene and Romero was the one who had been long overdue for a title shot, in that fight the new prospect won. Here Tony was in the place of Romero and managed to get the finish over Kevin Lee, the prospect who landed himself an Interim Title Shot pretty damn quick actually, not that it wasn't deserved.

Although I'm glad Tony finally is getting his shot at the title, which he is way long overdue t get. I mean this guy had the longest win streak in LW history before even getting this Interim shot. Part of me still feels bad for Kevin. This guy was soaring and to get staph, miss weight, and get finished must've been a really stressful situation. I'm not worried about him though, he's young and talented and I'm sure he'll get another title shot not too far from now.

The entire landscape of the division is changing pretty fast, with Michael Johnson, Nate Diaz, and Khabib Nurmagomedov pretty much out of the picture currently we've got a lot of places to fill. The up coming fights are pretty interesting to say the least. The fight between Gaethje and Alvarez will launch one of them into title contention behind Ferguson probably. Also Pettis has a chance to break into the top 10 again with a win over Poirier. It would be interesting to see Pettis make a comeback, especially considering how young he was when he became champion, he's only 30 now.

Doesn't leave many people without a dance partner for Kevin. I'd like to see Kevin fight the winner of Gaethje vs Alvarez. Right not Tony is in line for the title shot so I think there'll be room for this fight before the next title defense after Mcgregor vs Ferguson (which I really hope is going to happen).

Kevin said he might go up to WW, but honestly I feel like he's a LW. He's pretty big, but I don't think WW is the division for him. If he doesn't get the winner of Gaethje vs Alvarez the only other option is Barboza, but I'd much rather see him fight scrappers like Alvarez or Gaethje.

"If you enjoyed this post I would greatly appreciate a follow or an upvote, thank you for reading what I had to say"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.63
ETH 3502.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51