How Champions Dealt With The Big "L"

in #ufc7 years ago

In the recent post, "How to win by luck", I've talked about how one should view winning and what approach to take in order to constantly win over long haul. Today, let's see how the winners took a loss so that we learn their angles at it and apply it on our own.

Let's get on to it.

champion's loss

Champions and their "L"s


I'm a big time UFC fan. I love the adrenaline rush that two fighter in the octagon bring to the table. But the real addiction comes from value of seeing champions deal with adversity from daily training and most of all, their losses. It resonates with my soul in a deeper level, and definitely has helped me to pick myself up whenever I have my down moments in life.

By observing how all time greats deal with their losses, we can bring their mindsets into our game of life.

There are many greats out there but my favorite approaches that fighters took from losses are that of Conor Mcgregor and Dominick Cruz.

Conor McGregor

  1. Background details of the fight: Conor McGregor was initially scheduled to take on the lightweight champion at the time, Rafael Dos Anjos.

  2. Conor's words after his loss to Nate Diaz at UFC 196: I don't apologize for taking a risk. I'll win like a man and take loss like a man. In the end, there's no loss, you either win or learn. You face adversity head on and conquer it. I took a chance, it didn't pay off, but I'll be back. I'll head on and conquer it. I'll not shy away from it. I've risen from many adversities, I'll assess it, and come back. I enjoy the test.

  3. Take-Away: Not only the sweet stuff, but even the tough pills that are pushed into our throats, we need to fully embrace it. We don't shy away from it, we face it, and we own it through constant trial and adjustment.



Dominick Cruz

  1. Background details of the fight: Dominick Cruz underwent critical injuries that most athletes could have not endured. Had torn ACL three times that put him in two long lay-offs and was stripped of championship belt because of it. Other injuries include torn groin and plantar fascia tendinitis, but he never let those obstacles put him on his knees. He made a great comeback after long years of testing, winning the bantamweight championship belt again TJ Dillashaw. However, in his last fight he had to hand it over to the current champ, Cody Garbrandt.

  2. Dom's words after his loss to Nate Diaz at UFC 196: I don't make excuses. Losing is part of life. I'm happy in defeat because every single fight is a life lesson and you can always choose to use it correctly. You face the with everything you got. I'm thankful and I'm grateful.

  3. Take-Away: Similar to Conor, Cruz takes loss as a power pillar which he can use to empower him. He's confident of his capability and mindset to deal with whatever life throws at him. Like him, I hope we all do the same.



Hats off to these Greats who have persevered and pushed through any bumps in the road and welcome all the challenges that are more to come. That's exactly the mindset we can incorporate in our lives . We assess the consequences, learn from it, and evolve.

On to the next one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51