Ubuntu 16.04 - MESA Graphics Driver Crashes Unity Launcher - HowTo Fix

in #ubuntu7 years ago (edited)

Ubuntu Logo

Menu Launcher Crashes

On some laptops, after a recent update of Ubuntu 16.04, the Unity menu launcher crashes when you click on it. This is due to a bug in the MESA graphics driver. It will probably be fixed soon, but I found a solution and applied it today.

This happened with a ThinkPad L512 laptop, which uses an older Intel graphics chipset.

Here's the fix

Use a PPA to install a more recent version of the graphics driver.

Use Ctrl+Alt+T to open a Terminal window. Then use these commands:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:paulo-miguel-dias/pkppa
sudo apt-get update

Then

sudo apt upgrade

This will get the latest driver from the PPA and install it. Reboot and now the menu will work properly.

You may need to use a Terminal command to reboot:

sudo reboot

Hope that helps someone

-- @matthewdavid

Sort:  

I had some driver issues this week on 16.04, I just took the opportunity to switch to Ubuntu Budgie 17.10!

I need to switch back to Ubuntu-based on my regular laptop. I've liked Solus OS, but there are just too many packages that I'd like that are very easy to install on Ubuntu-based systems and not so easy to install on Solus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52