Playing with a x86 ubuntu system

in #ubuntu6 years ago

Well I have a few of these older x86 intel atom processor machines laying around specifically.


Digital Engine DE2700 Mini / Small PC Computer 91.ADE01.I240 - Intel 1.60GHz 2GB

I thought I would try throwing a 40GB ssd and 2GB cf card in and install ubuntu 14.04 LTS and see what I could make happen.

I installed ubuntu without much issue setting the / file system to the SSD and the CF card as a swap partition.

The system is running headless so I enabled SSH server during the install.

I assume everyone is up to speed reading this but if you need me to describe more in a later post let me know.

14.04 comes with python 2.7.6 and i wanted to install pip first. I ran a few procedures that weren't working

Specifically

sudo apt-get install python-pip

so I ended up using.

curl "https://bootstrap.pypa.io/get-pip.py" -o "get-pip.py"
python get-pip.py

from here this worked properly
sudo apt-get install python-pip

Install the development libraries

sudo apt-get install build-essential python-dev

Install Numpy

pip install --user numpy

Install Scipy

sudo apt-get install libblas-dev liblapack-dev
sudo apt-get install gfortran
pip install --user scipy

Sort:  

I'm specifically interested in using Python to do little projects and automation in Ubuntu.

From your post, it looks like you've had a lot of experience with both Python and Ubuntu.

Thank you very much for the comment. There are some limitations I have discovered with the low memory, slow storage, and x86 os I will post about this week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65