Use Your Mind- Make Ginger Men Cookies

in #txoiz7 years ago

I was watching all the sadness and tragedies on the TV when, on top of the depressing news, the snowless winter turned it’s wraith on Prince Edward Island today.

Old Man Winter huffed and puffed and some folks lost their electricity.

The weekly cribbage game Hubster and I attend at the Cambridge Hall was cancelled because of the unpredictable snow storm.

Since I still had electricity, cooking some comfort food for the evening came to mind.

Ginger Men Molasses Cookies With Jelly Bellies



31963E85-AABA-44AC-B6EA-AFF6D69AEBB8.jpeg


When making the cookies I do not measure the ingredients but learned to judge the required amounts in my mind.

This not only exercises the mind but saves on cleanup because less dishes and utensils are used.

My Own Recipe For the Ginger Men Cookies

Recipe makes appr. 50 cookies depending on how thick the dough is rolled out.

Preheat oven to 325 F.

Cream together:

  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1 Cup Shortening

Add:

  • 1 Cup Molasses mixed with 1/4 cup of hot water and 3 tsp baking soda
  • 3 Eggs-beaten
  • 2 tsp Raw Minced Ginger
  • 1 tsp Powered Ginger
  • 4 Cups Flour with 1 tsp baking powder, pinch of nutmeg, cinnamon and salt

Mix thoroughly, cover dough and refrigerate a couple hours.

Roll out dough on floured surface and cut into shapes as shown by the photos to the right.

Place Ginger Men cutouts or any other shapes on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

I bake the cookies for 6 min. then take the baking sheet out of the oven and indent the bellies with the end of a mixing spoon.

Fill each belly with 1/2 tsp. jelly /jam of your liking. I use strawberry.

Put the baking sheet back in the oven for appr. 6 more min. to finish cooking.

Let cool and enjoy.

Photos by @redheadpei

Thanks for visiting and try to use your mind whenever possible!

4EEC3192-E268-4B2A-B834-064CA952177C.jpeg

Sort:  

I love reading your recipe, I eat a lot of candy, I assure you at any time I can get the ingredients I will prepare "your snowmen". Thank you for participating and I invite you to continue accompanying this space. That is also yours!

Thanks @oizaguirres for your kind comments. I hope you get a chance to get the ingredients. Let me know how they turn out. They are great with a cup of tea. Appreciate your invitation and will see you in the space.

They look delicious :) I can almost smell the ginger!

Thanks Andy @andysantics for you kind comments. They are one of my favourite cookies with a cuppa tea. The recipe makes a good lot and I freeze some of the cookies to use later.

Woow! I need a take away!

Thank you @bornprince for your support always. I would gladly give you some.

This looks so yum! I'm going to so try the recipe... I mean, I'm going to forward the link to my wife to try..hahah

That is the best compliment @alvinah. You will enjoy the cookies.

YUM! I love Gingerbread cookies, and I bet the added sweetness of their jelly bellies makes these even more delicious!

Thanks @keciah. The jelly bellies does give a nice bite of sweetness.

They look so yummy and ginger is very good for you!! Thank you @redheadpei!!

Thanks @deerjay. Yes ginger is good and has a great smell. I try to cook with it as much as possible.

Yummy thanks for the recipe

Welcome @itzikuna. Let me know how you like them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49