"Authy" or Goole 2FA??

in #twofactor7 years ago (edited)

My answer will be very clear and sharp.
Authy why? The answer to this is very simple, you can back up the two-step codes on a cloud without fear of losing the phone in GA 2FA if you lose your phone and you didn't write the 16 string letters and numbers , you just fucked...

If you do not know what 2-step verification is, please go to this video

One of my friends lost his laptop and two-step backup codes, so he could not access the accounts that require 2-step verification. Fortunately, he managed to renew all the codes he had and obtained the private keys

Anyone who maintains Google's two-step verification application must know what it will do if the phone disappears.

I'm looking for a way to back up the Google application but if I have to, I'll go to the Authy app that allows you to scan Google barcodes and back them up on a cloud.

In the days we keep everything on the Internet and our money it is very important to know to back up the two-step code.

A final and unambiguous recommendation.
Authy.
if someone has a way to upload the data of this app ( google 2fa) to cloud and save the codes on a cloud i will be very thanksful if he will put a link below im working on it and if i'll find I will share for SURE!

Sort:  

Wow! this is something new for me and #authy will really help me to understand the things in more better way.

Thanks for letting us know about this @amiramnoam

You always come up with innovation for which i am a huge admirer of you :)

Stay Blessed, Have a nice weekend!

Thanks Noam, I'm using Google's method because I use binance and they offered this option so I took it. Do they have the second option? Will have to check it 🤗

For rooted phones you have the option to backup the app on the computer but it isn't the most simple thing in the world to do:
https://android.stackexchange.com/questions/63252/how-do-i-back-up-google-authenticator

authy עובד
על כל מה שגוגל עובד..
מצאתי למכשירים עם root
אני מחפש למכשירים רגילים

אחלה, אתקין אותו :)
ניסיתי לחפש ולא מצאתי עוד פתרונות :( רק העניין עם קוד הגיבוי שאליו התייחסת :/

Totally agree but I will add that it's a shame that Google hasn't already implemented it although there is a big claim and concern from Google Authenticator users community.

I would expect Google of all people to have better way to retrieve 2FA codes, I hope their product team picks this up as soon as possible.

Great content. Google 2FA has been so easy to use I haven't thought of looking for an alternative.

but it's really hard to backup
only if you have the 16 string letters..

I support you until the end very nice post you are right @amiramnoam

Great post! Thanks for that smart and brillient post. Post more. I follow and upvote you.

Always authy since its phone independent. I wish we could have it for steemit.

Thanks for the information, have a nice day.

I discovered this the hard way when I got a new phone and factory reset my old one to give to someone. I made the mistake and assumed that the GA would cloud save like everything else google on my phone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63774.40
ETH 3406.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59