You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Twitter & "bluesky"

in #twitter5 years ago

"...Steem's lack of any privacy..."

On Steem, privacy is largely determined by pseudonymity, and folks that do not undertake pseudonmymity do not undertake privacy. My wallet is as visible as anyone's on Steem, but it is not connected to my person because I do not spend Steem via KYC or AML regulation infested exchanges.

Glad to see a post from you and tentatively hopeful that @bluesky may result in platforms more censorship and surveillance resistant than extant spyware.

Thanks!

Sort:  

I'm sure we have talked about this before, but what you are describing is a niche case. Mainstream social media is designed to connect real world people with one another, and that's what most people want. Hence, privacy is crucial for mass adoption.

Of course, Steem can continue to be a niche platform with a few thousand or million users, but it's clear what the billions want.

Well, there is plenty of truth to what you say. I reckon it's also true that Imma need a platform that is a niche case. I don't do the other social media platforms, for reasons. I don't watch TV. I am a niche case.

There are products that meet the needs of ancillary or niche markets and do so quite successfully. Vive la difference!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65144.58
ETH 2627.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83