The Twilight Zone "The Comedian" Full EpisodesteemCreated with Sketch.

Comedian Samir Wassan (Kumail Nanjiani) wants to be famous...but at what cost? Witness if you will, the re-imagining of the most iconic series of all time. Join Academy Award® winner Jordan Peele as he hosts a journey through a wondrous land whose boundaries are that of imagination. Next stop ahead, The Twilight Zone, now streaming exclusively on CBS All Access. © 2019 CBS Interactive, Inc. 

Sort:  

Barring the obvious political and race-focused undertones, I'm liking it so far.

I also think Jordan Peele isn't qualified to be a Rod Serling torch holder and is an awkward placement. Rod wrote the vast majority of all of the episodes of the original, Jordan hasn't written a single one so far or any that have been announced. The guy's also stuck in my head as "that guy from Key and Peele," and it's weird seeing him in the same spotlight that Rod Serling stood under.

The original Twilight Zone is probably my favorite series of all time, so I gotta be ultra critical haha.

I was very big fan of the original series. I have only watched this episode so far that I posted, and I enjoy it a lot. I was glad it was more than a half hour show too, at first like I thought the concept was simple enough and it was written out to fill the hour pretty entertainingly. I went and checked the Wiki, Jordan has a writing credit on episode two. I know Jordan has been directing, but when I visually see him on the screen I almost want him to bust out in a joke lol, but this is cool he got this going on. Here is the full team behind the show:

Peele and Ramirez were confirmed to executive produce alongside Simon Kinberg, Win Rosenfeld, Audrey Chon, Carol Serling, and Rick Berg.

Carol Serling. Rod Serlings wife :)

More stuff now I'm just reading about the new show http://www.journalgazette.net/entertainment/tv/20190331/zone-entering-streaming-dimension

the monster-on-the-wing-of-an-airplane thriller “Nightmare at 20,000 Feet,” gets a “reimagining” (as “Nightmare at 30,000 Feet”) with Adam Scott starring. Seth Rogen, Sanaa Lathan, Greg Kinnear, John Cho, Jacob Tremblay (“Room”), Allison Tolman (“Fargo”) and Rhea Seehorn (“Better Call Saul”) also will be in the “Zone.”

This random quote

She's also in favor of Peele's involvement, “absolutely. There couldn't have been a better (choice). Though he hesitated for a while, I'm so glad he decided to narrate this. I really feel the narration of these stories is very important.

He has a writing credit as "story by," which is just an alteration to the famous Rod Serling episode "Nightmare at 20,000 feet." I think that's poor accreditation. He, as well as a few others, altered the original story to be more racially charged and then took credit as "story writers." Not a fan of that. That was just a PC/SJW spin on a story that Rod Serling wrote in order to appeal to younger audiences that are currently wrapped up in that regressive rhetoric.

I'm glad that Carol is involved, but it's hard for me to see how she can meaningfully be involved (like truly involved) at 90 years of age. I just don't think that Jordan deserves all of the street cred he's getting and that there could have been a much better Rod Serling replacement. Shit, get Stephen King! At least someone as prolific as a writer and is as cerebral (although it's hard to match how in-tune with the human condition Serling was) as Serling!

He, as well as a few others, altered the original story to be more racially charged

That was just a PC/SJW spin on a story

Oh boy lol :( Matt I am not so sure this show is for you at all if these are your thoughts. I mean, I read your comment on the first episode but didn't really get it but with your comment here, I am getting a better feeling of your view here based on these lines.

Barring the obvious political and race-focused undertones

Like just to go on this comment because I only watched the first episode, I actually think the show was going against this type of thing you are speaking of where focus gets put on anything political or race related. I thought they did a great job, where Kumail was playing a "libtard cuck soy etc etc" and the audience on the show (as well as myself and anyone watching) did NOT want to hear that bullshit. Like his first joke was trying to make a point about guns or something and it was lame. I just felt the show hammered the point after many times of him trying that lame joke it was not ever going to work. In fact as I type this out I feel a decent discussion could be had just on the first episode itself is a whole story to let the world know how lame it is to be a SJW/PC type of personality.

Your comments give me the feeling you have already seen the series, I am still giving it a chance because based on this first episode Jordan has done a good job. If you are a fan of the series, and though you seem very negative on it so far just feeling wise, I am glad you at the least did give it a shot. I am super glad I managed to stay away from an online noise about the show before watching it and went in blank because I did enjoy it and it brought me back to the original series, good story concept, play it through.

No I'm definitely going to keep watching. Like I was saying, The Twilight Zone has always been my favorite series of all time since I was a super young kid watching the New Years marathon's on the Sci-Fi Channel. I've seen every single episode of the original, all of Night Gallery, the 80s reboot, and the early 2000's reboot where Korn did the theme song (that was awful hahaha).

I enjoyed what I saw (the first two episodes of the 2019 reboot) aside from the clear spin being put on the stories which I see as poor/regressive taste that needs to fade out and that fact that I have a hard time not cringing seeing Jordan Peele in Rod Serling's shoes, especially knowing that he hasn't written anything thus far. Other than that, the first episode was pretty good.

You'll get what I'm saying if you pay close attention in the second episode where they took the Nightmare at 20,000 feet story, put a race-charged undertone on it, called it Nightmare at 30,000 feet, then took official story writing credit for it. I don't want to spoil it for you but it's a "WYPIPO IS KRAZZY AND ARE THE REAL BAD GUYS," episode.

Gonna go look up when the third episode comes out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48