The Best Friend Of The Dog

Mark is different, I know it, he is a very special child, he is the best boy that can exist.

Mark usually look at me with those big brown eyes and his smile make my world turn around him, when Mark smiles his plump cheeks blush in such a way that I could compare them to a couple of ripe apples.

Mark is a different child.

At first I felt a little jealous towards him, but when Mark first came home and I saw him, something in me says that he wouldn't be like the other children. Mark's parents realized months later, at that moment I realized that life will be very hard for that little boy, so I should be the one who take care of him.

Mark is already five years old and he is not like a five year old child should be, Mark's mother sometimes cries in her room when Mark's father is not there. For them he is a misfortune that Mark is different, for me Mark is perfect.

When I go to his room I find him on the ground with some legos scattered on the floor and a couple of them on his hand. Mark is not paying attention to the legos front of him, he is distracted with his look keeping on the roof, that is a common behavior of him.

I call him by his name but there is only a bark, even though Mark doesn't usually pay attention to the call of his name by his parents, instead, when I call him, he always look at me. As he is doing now, he smiles at me and I approach him and lick his hand where there is a yellow plastic figure. He lets out a big laugh and I realize for the thousandth time in my life that this child is my world and I don't remember how my life was before him.

Mark tries to babble some words but nothing concrete comes out of him.

"Don't try so hard" - I say.

But like always, there are only barks. Still, he seems to take a few deep breaths and then with his shrill and childish voice says.

"Amy ..."

I lick his cheeks as a reward and he gulps happily.

It's not Amy, is Samy. But even the fact of he tries to say my name is more than I could have expected.

I put my head on Mark's shoulder careful trying not to crush him, Mark is just a little bigger than me so I must be careful. He hugs me and caresses my coat with his plump hands.

Sometimes I wonder if in this world the only one capable of understanding me is Mark. His parents have tried everything but Mark usually ignores his surroundings, he only pays attention when I'm there, when I speak to him he seems to understand me and smiles in response. I wonder if Mark really has learned to listen to me.

Mark is different and I know. He is not like the other children. Mark can't walk on his legs despite his age. His eyesight is usually diverted to the roof and keep remain on it by hours. Mark doesn't speak, he babbles most of the words.

In the future, Mark's life will be hard. I know that too, but I don't care, I'll take advantage of it now with him.

I hope that someday Mark can be able to understand all that I say and I will wait for that day with impatience.

I know that Mark's parents has give up with him, I never could.

I may be a dog but Mark and I will be always best friends.

Mark gives meaning to my life and I am sure that I give meaning to his life too.

This is my entry for the contest twenty four hours short story :') hope all of you like it <3

https://steemit.com/twentyfourhourshortstory/@mctiller/writers-win-5-steem-april-17-twenty-four-hour-short-story-contest-a-little-kid-learns-their-dog-can-speak

Sort:  

Congratulations @pelusa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

damn it. I'm not crying, you're crying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53