Writers! Win 5 Steem in the 24 hour short story contest! Topic 2 for January 26.

The 24 hour short story challenge

I am fascinated by science fiction writer Harlen Ellison writing short stories in a book store window.  He wrote short stories with everyone watching for years, and people questioned if he already had the stories, so he began to take suggestions for topics from people watching.  

Chris Carter of X-files fame gave him the topic of a 102-year-old pregnant corpse, and he wrote a story based on that idea.

Chris Carter watching Ellison write his story.


And congrats to @annhoyblog for winning the first contest.

Here are the terms of the contest.

Write a short story no longer than 2,000 words, based on the topic phrase.

Here is the topic for you short story:

A vampire that grows allergic to blood.

Here are the rules for entry

1. Upvote this post.  

2. Resteem this post

3. Post a link to your story in the comments below.


Entries are due by 8 p.m. EST (New York Time) Friday June 26.  (This actually gives you a little over 24 hours from when I make this post.)

Use the tag twentyfourhourshortstory for your first tag.  (Don't use # before the tag or it goes over the 24 character limit.  24...Ironic don't you think...)

Feel free to use other tags as you wish.

Prizes are:

5 Steem for First Place

3 Steem for Second

And depending on how many entries I receive I may give out Steem for other entries.

(I am personally putting up the rewards for this contest, there be no whales here capt’in.  So upvoting helps keep this thing going.)


Thanks and Good Luck!


Sort:  

Here is my entry for this contest. I had a lot of fun with this writing prompt. https://steemit.com/twentyfourhourshortstory/@isabellelauren/blood-is-thicker-than-water-twentyfourhourshortstory-entry

So awesome that you're doing this @mctiller.

I know they are undead but if he is allergic to blood wouldn't that vampire eventually starve? Now that would be real science fiction a vampire that actually dies, without a stake in him or his head cut off.

And therein lies the story....

I didn't say the vampire dies.

I know you didn't say he/she dies but, OK, so what would this guy become, a vegetarian vampire? Probably could just drink sap from trees. I think I'm giving ideas to the people who will write a story about this, I won't participate, I'm not that creative.

Interesting concept. Let me think on these things and get back to you.

Different concept makes writers too difficlut

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43