You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lucy. A short story for Twenty-four hour short story contest

in #twentyfourhourshortstory5 years ago (edited)

Congratulations on the curie vote, @adncabrera. More than deserved. This story, like all your stories, carries the brand of excellence.
Very disturbing future painted here. You were able to capture the rarified interior and exterior atmosphere.
The merging of images from past and present, from conscious and induced states of mind is as hallucinatory as the alluded drug itself.

PS. I forgot to mention, your illustration alone deserved a curie vote. Just incredibly beautiful art.

Sort:  

Well said!!!
You should take over my former career as a book reviewer, @hlezama, and you should get paid for it too (stupidly, I invested thousands of hours of my life UNPAID reading and reviewing). I especially like your comment below: * We are about to lose our ability to dream nice dreams, bombarded as we are with so much crappy reality.* It's a daily struggle for me - I volunteer at Iowa Cold Cases, keeping the horrific details of unsolved murders in the public''s awareness, hoping Someone Who Knows Something will finally speak up and get whoever walked free Apprehended at last. But I digress. You're a great reader, and @adncabrera is a great writer. 'Nuff said! (but wait: thank you @curie for recognizing writers and artists when the rest of the world only recognizes iGadgets!).

Thanks :)
I need that job badly now :)
I celebrate your voluntary work. Things like that are badly needed.
It will always be beyond my understanding why anyone in a possition of power or with economic means does not do what is needed to really make a difference in our world. We have spread and accepted as undisputed truth this mantra, according to which change starts with oneself. Well, there are millions of oneselves who can't do much even if organized, let alone in isolation.

Yes! People like Jeff Bezos who net billions of dollars a year will avoid paying Federal income taxes. Because, it's legal. Meanwhile a doctor I know grosses $700,000 a year and pays $350,000 a year in taxes. Why is he in such a high tax bracket but not billionaires? Furthermore, low-wage workers at Amazon pay income taxes, but Bezos legally gets away without paying. A Flat Tax would solve that problem. It's both Democrats and Republicans who keep these tax laws in place. Meanwhile, we can only hope those with billions or millions will remember to fund after-school programs and Pets for Vets and that sort of thing.... sorry for the rant. I'm just having another one of those days. Thank you for spreading the goal of making a difference!

Thank you, my dear @hlezama. As always, your reading excites me. I'm so glad you thought my story was good. Indeed, the future projected by history is quite miserable. Somehow, when I imagined the drug, everything else came with it. I hope it's just a terrifying vision and that our future is the complete opposite.
A hug!

We all hope so. We are about to lose our ability to dream nice dreams, bombarded as we are with so much crappy reality.
Big hug

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67917.78
ETH 3516.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72