You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lucy. A short story for Twenty-four hour short story contest

It was a cheap cat with a soft semi-long coat. OMG I love this! You startle the reader with a fresh, original voice - this is what publishers seek, to the point that they publish some really weeeeeird prose like Katherine Forbes Riley's debut novel The Bobcat by a New York house, Skyhorse Publishing | Arcade Publishing. "Haunting and lyrical" prose, they call it, but I call it tortured. You however are coherent and articulate. Ok, this is getting long.... I love your Zentangle graphic, and that you mention Jackson Pollock! But I have a phobia about eyes. No fear of needles whatsoever, but needles near eyes.... squeeeeee!!!!!!! Ok, I'm gonna forgive you for that final image. eeep!

Sort:  

Dear @carolkean, I am very touched by your words. I'm very glad you found my story interesting. Indeed, language works a lyrical register within the nightmare that this man lives. He is really having a bad day. The final image is cruel (it's true, I also have a beautiful green-eyed cat called Neem), and I included it as a logical outcome for a character who denies his violent condition and superbly denies that his drug triggers such effects.

The mention of Pollock, apart from the fact that his work is mind-blowing, was made because it seems to me that he works in those margins where language becomes insufficient. He works in a limit state of language in its communicative configuration.

Thank you also for appreciating my drawing. I love drawing and I'm glad it's pleasing to others.

P.S. We agree: @hlezama is an exceptional reader and commentator and should earn a lot of money with those skills!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70