You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curse That Bound Her (A TwentyFour Hour Story Based On Real Events)

I really like the sense of time passing in this. In a modern world people expect things to happen almost instantly. This relationship you wrote about took years to develop and is more true to probably how most relationships develop. We have to take the time to get to know one another. It is possible to feel compassion for strangers, but it comes on stronger when we feel a bond with someone. So strong we are gifted with the extra push to actually act and do something about it. I wonder if people perceived they had more time and were less in a rush we would see more actions of compassion?

Sort:  

My biggest concern with this was conveying the sense of time, and it feeling believable for a character to go through such a change of opinion, so I am so pleased it came across as believable.

I have been thinking about that since this morning (when i ran out of time dancing around the kitchen and didn't get on steemit lol) I would hope so. If people felt their time was limitless, they would share it freely instad of hording it. I am guilty of doing that sometimes, but it doesn't take long to do something compassionate for someone. A fair amount of compassion comes from projection, which is, in some ways, just less elegant empathy.

I have a lot of emotion around this period of history, just from studying it and understanding what people endured. There is a lot to be learnt from the past, but the importance of compassion is undeniable, something that either abundance, or total lack, of changed the course of history again and again. Now, did you guess the queen? Lol

Google fails me! Who is the queen?! I did a bit of searching and there were a lot of child queens I had no idea. My focus in history was Greek and Roman, but my most latest studies were on U.S. history so I'm quite ignorant I'm sorry :(

less elegant empathy

That's a good way of putting it.

It is Mary Queen Of Scots, I thought the scottish references may give it away, it is a period of a few hundred years I just get really caught up in, the turbulence of religious upheaval led to a lot of women rising in power as new heads of state looked for supporters with the same allegiances. It is a little trashy, but have you read any phillipa gregory?It is kinda of like game of thrones but history lol

I have some amazon Kindle credits, what title do you recommend? I'm up for a little trash any day lol
I did like historical romance a long time ago and Kathleen Woodiwiss was one of my favorites... definitely probably more on the romance end rather than the historical but whatev

Technically they start with The Other Boleyn Girl, but there is a sub set in the series that starts with The White Queen that is so good. She does have a doctorate and has become a fairly respected historian as she researched more for her books, so the first ones are more trashy than the later ones. She weaves history with grounded theories and then fills in the gaps based on that, so it isn't 100% accurate, but anything important is. The historic order is different to the published order, but each book stands alone. Telling the stories of important historical women previously pretty over looked in their own rights <3 She recommends starting with the lady of the rivers, which is in the same sub series as the white queen, and is set the earliest historically, and also really good. See which one takes your fancy, let me know what you think :) I have all the books in the tudor series for a break between scifi and horror lol

Thank you for the recommendations. I'll be sure to pick one up, I'm leaning toward Lady of the Rivers because I kind of like the earlier periods too.

I ordered a copy of Lady of the Rivers today :) Also wanted to let you know I received West of Eden and it was indeed a 1st edition but I think a "bookclub" binding so maybe not a great a find as I hoped but it is in good condition and not stinky so I am happy. Will read over the summer. Thank you again for the recommendations!

Aww yeah! Oh I hope you enjoy it, I think you will see some of the ways it has influenced me, and a few of my contest themes ;)

I love that those two represent such different tastes in my collection of books, although Harry Harrison is definitely a much bigger influence on my writing styles. I had Witch World on my next to get list, along with Dogs of War (it is a more recent scifi, I don't know if you have encountered it?) so hopefully I should have it to bump to the top of my reading pile soon! Yey! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37