My Daddy's Stories.... Writer's Block Poetry Contest Week 6

iStock-184839769.jpg

MY DADDY'S STORIES

When I was but a boy,
My daddy told me,
A great many stories...

He told in vernacular,
He told in parables,
My daddy, he told me,
Strange stories everyday...

I listened to him,
With my curious little mind,
But I didn't understand,
So many of his words...

Why the world was an ocean,
And mum a co-captain,
Why the gods lived up in the sky,
And we sailed down below...

Oh I didn't understand,
I was but a boy,
Then I grew into a man,
And charted my own course...

Many full moons later,
With a co-captain left behind,
My erstwhile ship now a ragged canoe,
I finally understand...

Mistakes have been my teacher,
As experience held my hand,
The gods must surely be angry,
They threaten to run me aground...

So many years ago,
My daddy told me,
Those words I can't forget today...

"Son, your family is your pier,
Their love your compass,
Never forget your way home... "

#SladenSpeaks

Dedicated to all dad's out there who have been temporarily relegated to the background in the face of the international women's day celebrations. You all rock!
images.jpg

Written for The Writer's Block Poetry Contest Week 6... I'll keep entering till i win, lol😊

Well, like what you read? Then smash the hell out of that upvote button.
Dont like? Then gently tap it...

I'm Sladen, and I Speak, You all rock!

NB: All images were sourced from google images.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67878.14
ETH 2626.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64